North West 200: Hickman Dominates Opening Superstock Encounter

North West 200: Hickman Dominates Opening Superstock Encounter

There was no stopping Smiths Racing’s Peter Hickman in this evening’s Bayview Hotel Superstock race, at the 90th anniversary North West 200, as the world’s fastest road racer took his event wins tally into double figures.

Steadily overhauling on lap 1 the Quattro Plant Wicked Coatings Kawasaki duo of Glenn Irwin and James Hillier, Hickman backed up and some the form he showed in the prior qualifying sessions, establishing by the completion of lap three, a race lead of just over 2.4 seconds.

Photo by Road Racing Daily

From here, the now 13 times International Road Race winner turned on the style and upped the race lead to plus three seconds, before ultimately emerging victorious by nigh on 1.9 seconds, over tenacious lead pursuer Irwin.

Photo by Rod Neill

Completing the race rostrum finishers behind lead Kawasaki runner Irwin, was none other than Michael Dunlop.

Chipping away pace wise throughout the six lap encounter, he just had enough gritty race craft, solid pace to keep at bay early race front runner Hillier, holding at the chequered flag over the 2013 Lightweight TT winner, an advantage of just under half a second.

Ashcourt Racing’s Lee Johnston placed fifth, whilst lead newcomer Buildbase Suzuki’s Richard Cooper, impressed many on route to claiming an excellent top six finish.

Wrapping up the first ten finishers behind Triangle circuit debutant Cooper were PreZ Racing’s in form Jamie Coward, Penz 13 BMW’s Daley Mathison, BE Racing In Conjunction With Richardson Kelly Racing’s Derek Sheils and Dafabet Devitt Racing’s Paul Jordan.

Outside the aforementioned competitors, others to enjoy productive Superstock stints included Erno Kostamo (11th), Kris Duncan (14th), Matt Rees (15th), Lukas Maurer (16th) and James Chawke (17th).

We must mention as well how high the attrition rate was, within the six lap Superstock encounter, which saw just 25 racers complete the capacity race distance.

Notable retirements included Honda Racing’s Ian Hutchinson, Davey Todd, Michael Rutter, Gary Johnson, plus Dean Harrison who was on course for a podium finish, before sliding off at University Corner.

North West 200: Bayview Hotel Superstock race results, are as follows:

1 Peter Hickman
2 Glenn Irwin
3 Michael Dunlop
4 James Hillier
5 Lee Johnston
6 Richard Cooper
7 Jamie Coward
8 Daley Mathison
9 Derek Sheils
10 Paul Jordan
11 Erno Kostamo
12 Stefano Bonetti
13 Xavier Denis
14 Kris Duncan
15 Matt Rees
16 Lukas Maurer
17 James Chawke
18 Chris Green
19 Raul Torras Martinez
20 Donald MacFadyen
21 Mark Goodings
22 Paul Gartland
23 Stephen Degnan
24 Patricia Fernandez
25 Andy Sellars

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles