MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix: McLean Conquers Treacherous Conditions To Join Dundrod Winners Circle

MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix: McLean Conquers Treacherous Conditions To Join Dundrod Winners Circle

Getting underway over three hours behind schedule, due to persistent inclement weather at Dundrod, the DGH Recovery Services Super Twins race saw one of road racing’s fastest rising stars, Tobermore’s Adam McLean produce a masterful display.

Formidable aboard the Roy Hanna Motors backed Kawasaki, former Irish road race 125/Moto 3 champion McLean at the conclusion of an opening lap, which provided part wet, part damp, part dry conditions for competitors, enjoyed a lead out front of just over 1.6 seconds, over Christian Elkin.

The experienced Elkin, more known for his prowess on 125, 250 machinery, provided throughout the five lap race, the only real opposition to lead newcomer of TT 2017, McLean.

Come the conclusion of the fifth and final lap, Elkin was over 5.7 seconds behind race winner McLean, who after multiple high quality results at Dundrod, deservedly joined the Ulster GP winners circle.

Joining McLean and Elkin on the rostrum, was Welsh roads legend Ian Lougher on the Mark Coverdale backed Paton, who just got the better of Michael Sweeney and Kramer Motorcycles mounted Davey Todd, with under two tenths of a second covering the closely matched trio.

York’s Joe Thompson reeled off five solid, consistent laps of Dundrod, on route to finishing sixth, whilst Logan Racing’s Neil Kernohan and Optimark Road Racing’s Xavier Denis, both enjoyed very productive races in chalking up respectively seventh, eighth place finishes.

Wrapping up the top ten finishers were reigning Super Twins Manx GP champion Darren Cooper, and WH Racing’s Dominic Herbertson.

MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix: DGH Recovery Services Super Twins race results, are as follows:

1 Adam McLean
2 Christian Elkin
3 Ian Lougher
4 Michael Sweeney
5 Davey Todd
6 Joe Thompson
7 Neil Kernohan
8 Xavier Denis
9 Darren Cooper
10 Dominic Herbertson
11 Stephen McKnight
12 Barry Furber
13 Paul Gartland
14 William Hara
15 James Tadman
16 Veronika Hankocyova
17 Dan Harrison
18 John Byrne
19 Brian Appleton
20 Nigel McAuley
21 Marc Antoine Jourdain

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles