Manx GP Latest: Senior Classic First Twenty Starters Issued

Manx GP Latest: Senior Classic First Twenty Starters Issued

With just over two weeks till the Manx Grand Prix officially returns, the top twenty starters for the four lap Senior Classic race, have broken cover.

Holder of the number one plate is none other than 23 times TT winner John McGuinness MBE.

McGuinness who joined the 100 TT starts club in June, is widely tipped to make it four Senior Classic victories, as he lines up again on the formidable Team Winfield Paton.

Following McGuinness on the entry list is another Mountain Course maestro, 2013 Lightweight TT winner James Hillier (CSC Racing Honda).

The respective three, four, five, six plate holders have between them no less than 29 TT victories! Davies Motorsport’s Lee Johnston, Michael Rutter, TT Privateers Champion Jamie Coward and Supersport TT lap record holder Michael Dunlop.

2018 Junior Classic winner Dominic Herbertson will be seventh away down Glencrutchery Road whilst eight plate holder is first MV Agusta mounted rider, ten times TT winner Ian Lougher (John Chapman Racing).

Ninth away behind Lougher is reigning Duke Road Race Rankings Champion, recent Armoy ‘Race of Legends’ runner-up Michael Sweeney (CSC/IMS Racing).

Finalising the first ten starters is 2019 class runner-up, Italian hero Stefano Bonetti (Peter Beugger Racing Paton).

Vastly respected yesteryear racing exponent Alan Oversby goes at 11 whilst start numbers 12 and 14 have been assigned to IRRC Supersport Champion Pierre Yves Bian and Irish Road Race 125/Moto 3 Champion Michael Browne.

Respective 15,16,17 plate holders are Rob Hodson (Ruthless Racing), Triple Irish Road Race Superbike Champion Derek Sheils and Goole’s Phil Harvey.

Wrapping up the scheduled 1-20 starters are rising talent Nathan Harrison, Tobermore’s Adam McLean and versatile racing all-rounder Michael Russell.

2022 Manx Grand Prix – Senior Classic first twenty starters re-cap:

1 – John McGuinness MBE
2 – James Hillier
3 – Lee Johnston
4 – Michael Rutter
5 – Jamie Coward
6 – Michael Dunlop
7 – Dominic Herbertson
8 – Ian Lougher
9 – Michael Sweeney
10 – Stefano Bonetti
11 – Alan Oversby
12 – Pierre Yves Bian
14 – Michael Browne
15 – Rob Hodson
16 – Derek Sheils
17 – Phil Harvey
18 – Nathan Harrison
19 – Adam McLean
20 – Michael Russell

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles