Manx GP 2022: Wednesday Evening Practice Round Up

Manx GP 2022: Wednesday Evening Practice Round Up
Classic Superbike:

Laying down a significant marker ahead of race action next week, Michael Dunlop upped the ante this evening, recording by a long way the quickest lap speeds to date of Manx GP practice week.

Lapping from a standing start at 124.735 mph (18 minutes 08.931 seconds), Dunlop’s second lap aboard the Team Classic Suzuki XR69 steed, yielded a lap time almost seven seconds faster (18 minutes 01.979 seconds).

This equates in mph terms to an average speed of 125.537 mph!

Second fastest behind the 21 times TT winner was this afternoon’s pace setter Rob Hodson (123.047).

Greenall Racing team-mate Nathan Harrison (121.965) third quickest, on his flying lap looked good for a high 123, mid-range 124 mph lap before retiring.

Third Greenall Kawasaki racer Brian McCormack (121.735) placed fourth fastest whilst fifth to tenth quickest yesteryear Superbike exponents Michael Rutter, Dominic Herbertson, Craig Neve, Ryan Kneen, Michael Sweeney, Paul Jordan all topped the 121-mph lap mark.

Quick update on Oliver’s Mount Scarborough specialist, Mountain Course newcomer Keith Pringle who registered his first 100 mph lap, lapping at 101.577 mph.


Although a touch slower than his best time from the afternoon, Alasdair Cowan Racing’s Stephen Smith continued tonight to set the Senior class pace.

Smith’s best time tonight arose from his sole flying lap, which saw him lap at 18 minutes 52.957 seconds, 119.888 mph.

Top chaser to ‘Little Slip’, 11.31 seconds in arrears was JLG Racing/NCE Racing’s Jamie Williams (118.702). ‘Tommy Club’ member Dan Ingham (117.772), Chris Cook (116.029) set new PB practice week lap speeds.

Same notion applied to Andrew Fisher (115.976), Tom Robinson (115.418) and eight plate holder Marc Colvin (115.007).

Rounding out tonight’s ten speediest Senior runners were 2019 Newcomers A race runner-up Sam Mousley (114.975), Shaun Evans (114.528) and the RAF’s Rad Hughes (112.884).

Newcomers continuing to impress with their growing confidence, application around the fabled, mythical Mountain Course included Paul Cassidy (112.738), Amalric Blanc (111.136), Lewis Arrowsmith (110.569) and European Hill Climb Champion Maurizio Bottalico (109.512).

Senior Classic:

Posting the best Senior Classic lap speed thus far of practice week, John McGuinness MBE and the Team Winfield Paton were in fine form this evening.

23 times TT winner McGuinness MBE, who has announced that he is appearing in an upcoming episode of A Question of Sport, lapped at 20 minutes 38.400 seconds, 109.68 mph.

Second quickest behind McGuinness was long term pace setter Davies Motorsport’s Dominic Herbertson (107.802).

2013 Lightweight TT winner James Hillier finally enjoyed a positive run on the CSC Racing Honda, finishing third fastest thanks to a best lap of 104.049 mph.

Alan Oversby (102.781), Michael Sweeney (100.705) placed fourth, fifth quickest whilst another respected Mountain Course pilot Mark Parrett (99.972) finished sixth fastest.


Spain’s Victor Lopez Santos announced himself as an undoubted contender for Junior race honours, by finishing fastest tonight.

Lopez Santos flying lap saw him lap at 114.419 mph (19 minutes 47.107 seconds).

Second, third quickest Super Twins exponents behind Lopez Santos were practice week leaders Jamie Williams (113.259) and No.1 plate holder Francesco Curinga (112.041).

Chris Moore (111.391) aboard the Dafabet Racing Kawasaki finished fourth quickest just ahead of Castings Technology backed Dan Ingham (111.008).

Wrapping up Wednesday evening’s ten most potent Junior class runners were Andrea Majola (110.544), HeatTech Racing’s Ben Rea (109.974), Jack Fowler (109.265), Marc Colvin (109.201), Michael Rees (108.002).


Jim Hind and the Dennis Trollope Racing continued to lead the way in the Lightweight 250 category.

Hind’s only lap completed this evening, yielded a sub 19 minutes 40 seconds lap and a lap speed of 115.588 mph.

Just below 26 seconds down on Hind’s turn of speed was MGP stalwart Stuart Hall (113.106).

9.189 seconds behind Hall was Michael Dunlop (112.247) and the Crossan Motorcycles Honda.

Next three riders on tonight’s practice leader board were Ian Lougher (111.44), Dominic Herbertson (110.626) and Chris Moore (110.398).

In total only 16 Lightweight 250 racers registered representative lap times including sole Mountain Course debutant in the class, Gareth Arnold (102.436).

Photo credit: Nick Wheeler, Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles