Manx GP 2022: Johnston Bags Senior Classic Spoils

Manx GP 2022: Johnston Bags Senior Classic Spoils
Delayed by ten minutes due to a non-racing medical emergency, the Bremont Senior Classic Manx Grand Prix that got underway from 5:40 PM, didn’t fail to provide captivating action.

Lap 1:

With John McGuinness MBE a non-starter, first to get the tap on the shoulder was 2013 Lightweight TT winner James Hillier.

Fastest through to Glen Helen was North West 200 winner, class runner-up in 2019, Stefano Bonetti.

Bonetti opened up a nigh-on three seconds advantage over Davies Motorsport’s Lee Johnston and Dominic Herbertson.

At Ballaugh Bridge, Bonetti’s lead increased marginally, well only by 0.006 of a second!

Next timing point, Ramsey Hairpin saw Bonetti move almost 3.8 seconds ahead of new second place holder Herbertson.

Johnston was back into second at the Bungalow and had reduced Bonetti’s race lead to 2.57 seconds.

As lap one finalised, Bonetti still held P1 but by only 1.161 seconds over Supersport TT winner Johnston.

Herbertson third was 2.73 down on Johnston whilst the battle for fourth was topped by CSC Racing’s James Hillier.

Lap 2:

Johnston cut Bonetti’s lead further at Glen Helen and Ballaugh Bridge on lap two, with under half a second between the Senior Classic pace setters.

At Ramsey Hairpin, Johnston grabbed P1, holding a one second advantage.

By the Bungalow, Johnston led Peter Beugger Racing’s Bonetti by 4.416 seconds.

First to blast down Glencrutchery Road as lap two concluded, Johnston recorded a lap speed of 110.342 mph.

The distance between him and Bonetti, who lapped at 109.596 mph, stood at 7.222 seconds.

Herbertson maintained third with Hillier, Lightweight race victor Michael Browne, Hebden Bridge’s Jamie Coward completing the top six.

Lap 3:

Early stages of the third, last lap saw Johnston’s lead trimmed down by Bonetti to below four seconds.

3.6 seconds was Johnston’s advantage at Ramsey Hairpin, could he hold onto clinch a first Manx GP success?

The answer was yes with Johnston lapping 111 mph plus, clinching race victory by 8.244 seconds.

Second place finisher Bonetti, takes his Mountain Course racing podium finishes tally into double figures.

Aided via a 110-mph lap, Cork’s Browne placed third whilst fourth went to TT Privateers Champion Coward and the Ted Woof/Craven Manx Norton.

Finalising the first six finishers were respected Classics racer Alan Oversby and current Duke Road Race Rankings Champion Michael Sweeney.

Michael Russell, Hefyn Owen, Will Loder, James Hillier rounded out the first ten finishers whilst Harold Rowell Cup winner, for been the first 350 mounted racer to finish was 12th place finisher Nathan Harrison.

Senior Manx Grand Prix Result:

1st – Michael Browne

2nd – Stefano Bonetti

3rd – Michael Browne

4th – Jamie Coward

5th – Alan Oversby

6th – Michael Sweeney

7th – Michael Russell

8th – Hefyn Owen

9th – Will Loder

10th – James Hillier

11th – John Leigh Pemberton

12th – Nathan Harrison

13th – Dave Madsen Mygdal

14th – Andy Hornby

15th – Richard Parker

16th – Colin Stockdale

17th – Maria Costello MBE

18th – Kelly Carruthers

19th – Leon Murphy

20th – Jeff Smith

21st – Lee Jennings

22nd – Adrian Skaife

23rd – Richard Wilson

Photo credit: Mark Corlett, Nick Wheeler

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles