IRRC Superbike Champion Le Grelle New Leader Of BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

IRRC Superbike Champion Le Grelle New Leader Of BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

Newly crowned IRRC Superbike champion Sebastien Le Grelle is the new leader of BMW Motorrad’s Race Trophy series for 2017, having successfully sealed a second IRRC title at Frohburg.

Winner of seven races this year within the growing in stature championship, Herpigny Motors BMW Motorrad Belux’s Le Grelle was consistently the one to beat at many of continental Europe’s foremost real roads venues.

Photo by Robby Repsol

Reflecting on joining a very select group of riders to have won more than 1 IRRC title, the affable Belgian said, when speaking to

“I am very happy to have won the IRRC title. The championship is getting bigger and bigger. It is great to have so many spectators following us and the atmosphere is always fantastic. It is true that some tracks are pretty dangerous and one must keep a cool head.

I am satisfied with my season. The BMW S 1000 RR works great, it is very efficient and very pleasant to ride.

Over the entire season I did not have one mechanical problem. My Herpigny Motors team is very professional and I want to thank them all. I always rode with complete confidence in my bike.”

Outside of the battle to become Race Trophy champion, the BMW Combined Road Race Challenge is lead at present by Smiths Racing’s Peter Hickman by just over 9 points over second fastest rider in Ulster GP history, Dan Kneen.

The combined road race challenge champion will be crowned following the final round at Macau, in November where as at all international meetings, BMW Motorrad will have an extremely strong presence.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles