Road Racing News

IRRC Imatranajo: Webb Takes Championship Lead To Over 40 Points Following Dominant Superbike Display

Stretching his championship lead to over 40 points, Tunbridge Wells Danny Webb chalked up yesterday in dominant fashion, a second successive IRRC Superbike triumph at Imatranajo.

Victorious by over 18 seconds, Wepol Racing by Penz 13.Com’s Webb as within Saturday’s opening big bike encounter produced a faultless all round performance, showcasing again his undoubted credentials to become the UK’s first IRRC champion.

Photo by Pekka Varis

Markka Racing’s Erno Kostamo banked another second place finish, whilst Marek Cerveny concluded a solid Imatranajo meeting by claiming the final spot on the rostrum.

Switzerland’s Lukas Maurer bagged fourth, Jani Ratto was fifth as Horst Saiger again lead the Yamaha challenge on his own teams YZF R1M steed.

Placing’s 7th, 8th, 9th and 10th went the way of respectively Lasse Karki, David Datzer, Pavel Tomecek and Markus Karlsson.

Notable non finishers in the ten lap race, included IRRC legend Didier Grams plus the Wepol Racing by Penz 13.Com duo of Jamie Coward and Martin Jessopp.

Race results are as follows:

1 Danny Webb
2 Erno Kostamo
3 Marek Cerveny
4 Lukas Maurer
5 Jani Ratto
6 Horst Saiger
7 Lasse Karki
8 David Datzer
9 Pavel Tomecek
10 Markus Karlsson
11 Dan Kruger
12 Carl Joha Kallmann
13 Ales Nechvatal
14 Nico Muller
15 Nadieh Schoots
16 Eddy Maniguet
17 Fredrik Enlund

Words by Stevie Rial