IRRC Hengelo: 7th IRRC Supersport Success For Hamberg, UK’s Johnson P5

IRRC Hengelo: 7th IRRC Supersport Success For Hamberg, UK’s Johnson P5

Despite forecast inclement weather, conditions remained dry all round for this morning’s IRRC Hengelo Supersport encounter.

Pole sitter Jorn Hamberg, triple European roads Champion Marek Cerveny made the best starts, with only 0.216 separating them as lap one finalised.

By lap three, Performance Racing Achterhoek’s Hamberg was one second to the good out front.

Lap four would see 765 Triumph mounted Cerveny trim the Dutchman’s advantage to just 0.822 of a second.

From lap five onwards though there was no stopping the highly-touted Hamberg.

A string of sub 1 minute 50 seconds lap times, including a best of 1.49.656, enabled him to take full control of race proceedings.

Able to roll off the pace a touch on the ninth, final lap, his final race winning margin to WRP Wepol Racing’s Cerveny was just a shade under 4.95 seconds.

Hamberg’s Performance Racing Achterhoek team-mate Ilja Caljouw bagged third ahead of Festa Laserscanning Europe by PSB’s Petr Najman and Team Schleizer Dreieck’s Gary Johnson.

During early race stages, twice TT winner Johnson had held P3 before dropping back to fifth.

Positions sixth to tenth went respectively to Anssi Koski, Sebastian Frotscher, top Kawasaki runner Rico Vetter, Thomas Wendel and meeting wildcard Kevin Mos.

Concluding the top 15 finishers were Matthieu Pauchard, Elias Van Roekel, Mauro Poncini, prospective Manx Grand Prix newcomer Andreas Jochum and 2021 Cookstown Grand Final winner, Cornwall’s Forest Dunn.

IRRC Hengelo – Supersport Race 1 Result:

1st – Jorn Hamberg
2nd – Marek Cerveny
3rd – Ilja Caljouw
4th – Petr Najman
5th – Gary Johnson
6th – Anssi Koski
7th – Sebastian Frotscher
8th – Rico Vetter
9th – Thomas Wendel
10th – Kevin Mos

11th – Matthieu Pauchard
12th – Elias Van Roekel
13th – Mauro Poncini
14th – Andreas Jochum
15th – Forest Dunn
16th – Rhys Hardisty
17th – Wes Kleinfeld
18th – Lukas Vaclavovic
19th – Jakub Sprojcar
20th – Wayne Bourgeais

21st – Gregor Morf
22nd – Jimmy Wauters
23rd – Tiia Seima
24th – Patrick Glauser
25th – Peter Lionel

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles