IRRC Frohburg: Ultra Reliable Webb Maintains Superbike Qualifying Authority

IRRC Frohburg: Ultra Reliable Webb Maintains Superbike Qualifying Authority

It’s never a guarantee to always be at one with your machine of choice, but that’s been the case and some this season for Wepol Racing by Penz’s Danny Webb.

The UK’s first ever IRRC series champion once again today at Frohburg, proved the cream of the IRRC Superbike field, showcasing relentless pace in both qualifying sessions.

His lap time of 1 minute 33.602 seconds set during this morning’s opening qualifying session, which he almost bettered this afternoon, was more than enough to bank yet another IRRC qualifying victory.

Second quickest behind ultra reliable pole sitter Webb was home favourite Didier Grams (1.34.161), just over half a second behind his fellow S1000RR BMW mounted racer.

Claiming position on the time sheets was event wildcard Derek Sheils (1.34.918), who’s steadily chipping away with his pace around Frohburger Dreieck.

Fourth, fifth quickest respectively were Marek Cerveny (1.35.474) and ultra impressive Frohburg debutant Davey Todd (1.35.675).

Although he’s an event newcomer, the ambitious, highly rated Todd already looks a potential podium finishing contender for Sunday’s ten lap races.

Placing’s sixth and sevneth on the time sheets went to Rico Lowe (1.35.800) and Markka Racing’s Erno Kostamo (1.35.820), who is still in prime contention to finish second overall in this years IRRC Superbike series.

Wrapping up the ten quickest combined qualifiers were David Datzer (1.36.794), Ales Nechvatal (1.36.898) and improving IRRC exponent Nico Muller (1.36.949).

IRRC Frohburg: Combined Superbike qualifying results are as follows:

1 Danny Webb 1.33.602
2 Didier Grams 1.34.161
3 Derek Sheils 1.34.918
4 Marek Cerveny 1.35.474
5 Davey Todd 1.35.675
6 Rico Lowe 1.35.800
7 Erno Kostamo 1.35.820
8 David Datzer 1.36.794
9 Ales Nechvatal 1.36.898
10 Nico Muller 1.36.949
11 Lukas Maurer 1.36.969
12 Jamie Coward 1.37.171
13 Kamil Holan 1.37.727
14 Roger Bantli 1.38.082
15 Juha Kallio 1.38.084
16 Daley Mathison 1.38.588
17 Tomas Borovka 1.38.694
18 Timo Schonhals 1.39.361
19 Marnix D’Hondt 1.39.565
20 Nadieh Schoots 1.39.582
21 Hanno Brandenburger 1.40.132
22 Dean Osborne 1.41.020
23 Hannes Engl 1.41.161
24 Mario Grunwald 1.41.416
25 Jean Pierre Polet 1.41.709
26 Jurgen Welsing 1.41.997
27 Eddy Maniguet 1.42.199
28 Rob Van Eijs 1.42.282
29 Fredrik Enlund 1.42.494
30 Ricky Wagner 1.42.874
31 Paul Manx 1.42.975
32 Ryan Trocherie 1.43.564
33 Yannik Jacops 1.43.599
34 Robert Heitzinger 1.44.224
35 Foti Psomadakis 1.44.550
36 Kurt Haek 1.44.814

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles