Road Racing News

IRRC Frohburg: Grams Edges Cerveny In Superbike Thriller

IRRC race action for 2019 concluded this afternoon at Frohburg with an intriguing, thrilling re-started eight lap Superbike race.

At the end of the compelling ten lap encounter, just 0.661 of a second covered the top three finishers, with G&G Motorsport supported Didier Grams just getting the better of Marek Cerveny to score his first IRRC victory of 2019.

Grams race victory, also means he clinches second place in the Superbike Championship in front of Czech roads legend Cerveny.

Photo by Robby Repsol

Claiming the final spot on the podium was opening Superbike race victor Danny Webb, who set the fastest lap of the race, registering a best lap time of 1 minute 34.120 seconds.

Wepol Road Racing team mate, this year’s IRRC Superbike series victor Davey Todd, competing on his Superstock BMW steed, made up nine places on route to battling to a gritty fourth place finish.

Lukas Maurer secured fifth, David Datzer took sixth, Performance Racing Achterhoek’s Virgil Amber Bloemhard finished eighth.

Czech roads Superbike Champion Ales Nechvatal placed eighth as 2019 IRRC Supersport Championship runner-up Laurent Hoffmann and Pavel Tomecek concluded the first ten finishers.

IRRC Frohburg – Superbike Race 2 result is as follows:

1 Didier Grams
2 Marek Cerveny
3 Danny Webb
4 Davey Todd
5 Lukas Maurer
6 David Datzer
7 Virgil Amber Bloemhard
8 Ales Nechvatal
9 Laurent Hoffmann
10 Pavel Tomecek
11 Tomas Borovka
12 Markus Karlsson
13 Marcel Elsner
14 Kamil Holan
15 Dominik Haslinger
16 Yannik Jacops
17 Aki Valkila
18 Josef Luksik
19 Thomas Mitgutsch
20 Foti Psomadakis
21 Jurgen Plattner
22 Rob Van Eijs
23 Marek Hlozek
24 Vladislav Nezdara

Words by Stevie Rial