IRRC Chimay: Title Challengers Share Supersport Spoils

IRRC Chimay: Title Challengers Share Supersport Spoils

IRRC Supersport title challengers Joey Den Besten and Pierre Yves Bian, shared the spoils at Chimay, following two 600 races ran in differing conditions.

The opening encounter saw Performance Racing Achterhoek’s Den Besten in a league of his own, finishing the 10 lap race, 12.356 clear of Yves Bian, with Thomas Walther finalising the rostrum finishers.

Belgium championship winner Laurent Hoffman clinched fourth, as Christian Schmitz and Arnaud Seydoux rounded out the top six.

Race 2, would see competitors greeted by wet conditions, with persistent rain embarking upon Chimay, in the afternoon.

Photo by Robby Repsol

Yamaha France backed Yves Bian splashed his way to victory, heading home nearest challenger Thomas Walther, to the tune of over 21 seconds.

Christian Schmitz was third, whilst race 1 winner Den Besten had a low key race, finishing fourth just in front of 2012 Newcomers A Manx GP winner Kamil Holan.

Another notable result was clinched by MV Agusta mounted Stefan Wauter, who’s sixth place finish, ranks amongst the iconic Italian marques leading real roads results, thus far of 2017.

Photo by Robby Repsol

It’s tightening up at the top of the IRRC Supersport series standings, with just seven points separating Den Besten (108), Yves Bian (105) and Walther (101), following competition at Chimay.

Next round of the championship at Schleiz in Germany, could prove absolutely crucial in the exciting battle to become the 2017 IRRC Supersport champion.

IRRC Chimay – Supersport results, are as follows:

Race 1:

1 Joey Den Besten
2 Pierre Yves Bian
3 Thomas Walther
4 Laurent Hoffman
5 Christian Schmitz
6 Arnaud Seydoux
7 Max Gaube
8 Kamil Holan
9 Markus Witte
10 Stefan Wauter
11 Anders Blaha
12 Sebastien Frotscher
13 Martin Riedl
14 Kai Zentner
15 Fabrice Faivre
16 Daniel Schmidt
17 Sammy Ahonen
18 Wayne Bourgeais
19 Stefan Hofer
20 Eric Harmegnies
21 Vladimir Snajdr

Race 2:

1 Pierre Yves Bian
2 Thomas Walther
3 Christian Schmitz
4 Joey Den Besten
5 Kamil Holan
6 Stefan Wauter
7 Laurent Hoffman
8 Kai Zentner
9 Sebastien Frotscher
10 Anders Blaha
11 Eric Harmegnies
12 Vladimir Snajdr
13 Sammy Ahonen
14 Markus Witte
15 Wayne Bourgeais
16 Stefan Hofer
17 Fabrice Faivre
18 Daniel Schmidt

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles