Ian Watson spring cup road races – Supersport race 1 report

Ian Watson spring cup road races – Supersport race 1 report


The opening supersport 600 at the Ian Watson spring cup road races this year started in dry conditions all round and it was Guy Martin who was in pole position on the Tyco Suzuki by TAS supersport 600 bike.

On lap 1 it was Michael Pearson and Dan Frear who made the best starts and they lead Guy Martin who was in third place with Ivan Lintin and Dean Harrison in fourth and fifth. Ian Lougher was in sixth place with Jamie Hamilton seventh on the KMR Kawasaki powered by Vauxhall ZX-6 Kawasaki.

Lap 2 saw Guy Martin hit the front with Michael Pearson and Dan Frear occupying second and third places whilst Dean Harrison was fourth and Ivan Lintin was fifth on the Taylor Linsdey racing ZX-6 Kawasaki with Ian Lougher rounding out the top 6.

Onto lap 3 and Guy Martin opened up over a 1 second lead over Michael Pearson in second place whilst Dan Frear, Dean Harrison and Ivan Lintin where all close together battling for third place. Ian Lougher was still in sixth place, Jamie Hamilton was still in seventh as the race went onto lap 4.

So on lap 4 it was still Guy Martin leading the way in front of Michael Pearson and Dan Frear, Dean Harrison was fourth but was fast reeling in Dan Frear in front of him. Ivan Lintin was fifth but like Dean Harrison was beginning to lap faster compared to the riders in front of him.

Laps 5 & 6 didn’t see to many position changes throughout but Ian Lougher was a retirement which meant Jamie Hamilton moved into sixth place. The battle for the top 3 positions in the race was becoming a great race between Michael Pearson, Dean Harrison, Dan Frear and Ivan Lintin.

Lap 7 followed a similar pattern to the previous laps as Guy Martin continued to pull away at the front of the race but now Dean Harrison moved into second place in front of Michael Pearson who was now also under pressure from Ivan Lintin in fourth place.

On the final lap Guy Martin took the chequered flag to record yet another victory around Oliver’s Mount to add to his ever growing impressive haul of wins around the iconic road race circuit. Dean Harrison finished in a battling second place on the Ian Bell Motorcycles R6 Yamaha supersport bike.

Ivan Lintin rounded out the top 3 finishers having taken a brilliant third place in his first race of the season on the Taylor Lindsey racing ZX-6 Kawasaki. Dan Frear finished 4th on the NLC Components Yamaha R6 supersport bike, 5th place went to Michael Pearson and Jamie Hamilton took home a consistent sixth place finish.

James Coward on the Barnes racing R6 Yamaha took seventh place, TT newcomer this year Sam Wilson finished in a superb eight place, Mark Goodings finished in 9th whilst Gary Graves rounded out the top 10.

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *