FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix: Hickman Takes Superstock Pole By 1.88 Seconds

FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix: Hickman Takes Superstock Pole By 1.88 Seconds

After yesterday’s inclement weather allied to an oil spillage arising in the early stages of Supersport qualifying, the 1000cc Superstock machines finally today took to the fabled Dundrod course.

In decent conditions all round, it was after the first flying laps Ashcourt Racing’s Lee Johnston who set the initial pace as Dafabet Devitt Racing’s Paul Jordan qualifying session concluded early, following an incident at Leathemstown.

More than halfway through the session, Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison jumped to the top of the timing leader board, lapping at 3 minutes 25.472 seconds.

Soon though respected rival, Smiths Racing’s Peter Hickman took control lapping at 3 minutes 23.589 seconds, to move over 1.8 seconds clear of Dunlop Senior TT champion Harrison.

Unfortunately with just over five minutes of the session still to run, red flags entered the horizon following an incident at Dawson’s Bend.

Hickman went onto be declared Superstock qualifying victor, with Harrison, Johnston, PreZ Racing’s Jamie Coward respectively finishing second, third, fourth quickest.

IRRC Superbike series leader Davey Todd placed fifth quickest, whilst sixth on the times sheet in spite of his incident at Leathemstown was Kells Supersport victor Paul Jordan.

Finalising the remainder out of the top ten from qualifying were Michael Sweeney, Honda Racing’s David Johnson, Irish Road Race Superbike Champion Derek Sheils and Noel Williamson Racing’s Shaun Anderson.

FonaCAB Ulster Grand Prix: Superstock qualifying result is as follows:

1 Peter Hickman 3.23.589
2 Dean Harrison 3.25.472
3 Lee Johnston 3.26.436
4 Jamie Coward 3.29.325
5 Davey Todd 3.29.710
6 Paul Jordan 3.30.505
7 Michael Sweeney 3.31.089
8 David Johnson 3.31.177
9 Derek Sheils 3.31.318
10 Shaun Anderson 3.31.459
11 Brian McCormack 3.31.927
12 Phil Crowe 3.32.143
13 Ryan Kneen 3.32.420
14 Conor Cummins 3.32.999
15 Josh Daley 3.33.211
16 Dominic Herbertson 3.33.427
17 Michael Booth 3.33.447
18 David Jackson 3.33.642
19 David McConnachy 3.36.339
20 Mark Parrett 3.37.473
21 Sam West 3.37.546
22 Xavier Denis 3.38.034
23 Darren Cooper 3.38.617
24 Davy Morgan 3.38.707
25 Forest Dunn 3.38.782
26 Laurent Hoffmann 3.39.033
27 Kris Duncan 3.39.220
28 Neil Kernohan 3.39.529
29 Michael Dunlop 3.39.810
30 Tom Weeden 3.39.853
31 Kamil Holan 3.40.946
32 Alan Connor 3.41.307
33 James Chawke 3.41.672
34 Barry Furber 3.42.333
35 Richard Charlton 3.43.764
36 Stephen McKnight 3.45.757
37 Patricia Fernandez 3.46.172
38 Donald MacFadyen 3.46.554
39 George Spence 3.47.274
40 Marty Lennon 3.49.171
41 Paul Gartland 3.50.227
42 Andy Sellars 3.54.957
43 Paul Cranston 3.59.141

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles