Classic TT: Seeded Runners For Senior Class Unveiled

Classic TT: Seeded Runners For Senior Class Unveiled

Just over two weeks till the 2019 Classic TT Races enters the horizon, the list of seeded competitors for the four lap Bennetts Senior race, has broken cover.

Holder of the number one plate is none other than 23 times TT winner John McGuinness. McGuinness who endured a challenging TT 2019 tenure, is regarded by many as pre-race favourite for Senior class honours as he lines up again on the formidable Team Winfield Paton mount.

Photo by Mark Corlett

Following McGuinness on the entry list is another true Mountain Course maestro, Dunlop Senior TT victor Dean Harrison.

Senior class victor in 2015, at the time piloting the great sounding Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta, his return to piloting 500cc yesteryear machinery, sees him Norton mounted competing aboard a steed which features title backing from personal sponsors LSS Waste Management.

The respective three, four, five, six plate holders have between them no less than 37 TT victories! Ten times TT winner Ian Lougher (3), Ripley Land Racing supported Michael Rutter (4), 2013 Lightweight TT champ James Hillier (5) who again competes under the CSC Racing banner and fitness permitting Michael Dunlop (6).

Former class podium finisher Maria Costello MBE will be seventh away down Glencrutchery Road, whilst another podium finishing contender carries the eight place, 2018 TT Privateers champion Jamie Coward.

Ninth away behind Ted Woof Racing/Craven Manx Norton’s Coward is reigning Junior 350 class champion Dominic Herbertson, who recently secured overall Senior Classic race honours at Armoy.

Finalising the first ten starters is respected yesteryear racing specialist Chris Swallow, who’s latest Mountain Course tenure is backed by Flitwick Motorcycles.

Alan Oversby (11) as at the Pre TT Classic Road Races competes under the Ireland Honda banner, whilst start numbers 12 and 13 have been assigned to fellow Honda mounted racer’s reigning IRRC Superbike series champion Danny Webb and eight times International Road Race winner Lee Johnston.

Respective 14, 15, 16 plate holders are Gleve Racing’s Bill Swallow, Izzard Racing’s Michael Russell and third place finisher in the Royal London 360 Superstock race of TT 2019, David Johnson.

Wrapping up the first 20 seeded starters are Egli Vincent equipped Horst Saiger (17), Metzeler King of The Roads series leader Derek Sheils (18), York’s Joe Thompson (19) and Ruthless Racing/Geoff Bates Racing supported Rob Hodson (20).

Full re-cap of the 20 seeded riders for this month’s Bennetts Senior Classic TT:

1 John McGuinness
2 Dean Harrison
3 Ian Lougher
4 Michael Rutter
5 James Hillier
6 Michael Dunlop
7 Maria Costello MBE
8 Jamie Coward
9 Dominic Herbertson
10 Chris Swallow
11 Alan Oversby
12 Danny Webb
13 Lee Johnston
14 Bill Swallow
15 Michael Russell
16 David Johnson
17 Horst Saiger
18 Derek Sheils
19 Joe Thompson
20 Rob Hodson

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles