Caljouw Emerges Victorious From IRRC Supersport Season Finale

Caljouw Emerges Victorious From IRRC Supersport Season Finale

The final IRRC Supersport race for 2021, did not disappoint with a mix of drama, hard fought competition and typically close fought, no holds barred 600cc action.

Newly crowned IRRC Supersport Champion Pierre Yves Bian set the initial pace, jumping out to a one second plus lead over Jorn Hamberg, Ilja Caljouw on lap one.

Laps two, three would see Yves Bian remain 1st whilst the battle for second between the Performance Racing Achterhoek steeds was now headed by Open Supersport race winner Caljouw.

Drama followed on lap four as Martimotos Kawasaki exponent Yves Bian retired, elevating Caljouw, Hamberg into first, second respectively.

Positions from here would not alter towards the chequered flag on the tenth and final lap, although Hamberg did pile the pressure upon team mate Caljouw in the closing proceedings, moving by the race conclusion, just 0.664 in arrears.

For race winner Caljouw, success marks the culmination of an excellent overall IRRC campaign, which has yielded in total this year eight successive podium finishes, more than all other Championship competitors.

Wrapping up the IRRC Supersport season finale podium finishers was welcome pure roads returnee, Team Schleizer Dreieck’s Thomas Walther.

Petr Najman who has impressed throughout the season took fourth, Max Gaube bagged fifth with sixth claimed by another event wildcard Rico Vetter.

Amalric Blanc finished seventh, Sebastian Frotscher eighth, Philipp Stich ninth, Daniel Schmidt 10th whilst the UK’s sole representative Mark Purslow took his best finish of the day thus far, coming home in 13th place.

IRRC Frohburg – Supersport Race 2 result is as follows:

1st – Ilja Caljouw
2nd – Jorn Hamberg
3rd – Thomas Walther
4th – Petr Najman
5th – Max Gaube
6th – Rico Vetter
7th – Amalric Blanc
8th – Sebastian Frotscher
9th – Philipp Stich
10th – Daniel Schmidt
11th – Romain Cleaz Savoyen
12th – Wolfgang Schuster
13th – Mark Purslow
14th – Anssi Koski
15th – Benjamin Beume
16th – Kevin Rigot
17th – Cyril Lecocq
18th – Julien Cregniot
19th – Lars Gerrit Wozniak
20th – Robert Rohde
21st – Sascha Prahl
22nd – Erwan Bannwart
23rd – Jerome Bagard
24th – Olaf Romijn
25th – Yann Galli
26th – Quentin Limousin
27th – Maxime Gresoviac

Photo credit: Robby Repsol

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles