50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – First Practice Report

50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – First Practice Report

The opening practice session of the 50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix, saw eight times Macau GP champion Michael Rutter set the pace, following lap time of 2 minutes 27.022 seconds, on the Bathams SMT Racing S1000RR BMW.

Regarded as one of the all time greats at the iconic road race in Far East Asia, “Blade” starts once again as one of the firm pre race favourites, further underlined today by securing the numero uno, number 1 spot in first practice.

First practice session During

Photo by Charles Robertson

Martin Jessopp tipped by many for the top step of the podium, this year at Macau, finished second quickest under 0.4 of a second behind his fellow S1000RR BMW mounted rider.

Horst Saiger impressed in finishing third quickest, lapping at 2 minutes 29.291 seconds, as he finished by a long way the leading Kawasaki mounted competitor.

Ian Hutchinson was next up on the time sheets on the Tyco BMW, he was followed by John McGuinness and Stuart Easton in finalising the top six, from the opening practice session.

Penz 13.com BMW’s Gary Johnson showed accomplished form, whilst Macau newcomer Glenn Irwin, raised many an eye brow or two in finishing eighth fastest on the Be Wiser Ducati.

Reigning champion Peter Hickman had a low key session, as he took his gold, red and black liveried Bathams SMT Racing BMW to the ninth quickest time, completing the top ten in practice was Conor Cummins.

Added impressive performances included Irish road race Superbike champion Derek Sheils, finishing a more than creditable 15th quickest, plus South Africa’s AJ Venter lapping at 2 minutes 37.137 seconds in recording the 18th fastest time.

50th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – First Practice Results:

1 Michael Rutter 2.27.022
2 Martin Jessopp 2.27.358
3 Horst Saiger 2.29.291
4 Ian Hutchinson 2.29.513
5 John McGuinness 2.29.994
6 Stuart Easton 2.31.687
7 Gary Johnson 2.31.777
8 Glenn Irwin 2.32.100
9 Peter Hickman 2.32.330
10 Conor Cummins 2.32.959
11 Steve Mercer 2.33.019
12 Dan Cooper 2.33.138
13 Didier Grams 2.33.193
14 Dan Kneen 2.33.258
15 Derek Sheils 2.34.063
16 Ivan Lintin 2.35.431
17 Steve Heneghan 2.36.129
18 AJ Venter 2.37.137
19 Brian McCormack 2.37.305
20 Michael Sweeney 2.37.596
21 Sam West 2.37.898
22 Davy Morgan 2.38.535
23 Mark Miller 2.38.673
24 Danny Webb 2.39.333
25 Marek Cerveny 2.39.475
26 Andre Pires 2.39.579
27 Dan Hegarty 2.40.153
28 Ben Wylie 2.41.551

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *