28 Event Victors Throughout Past 51 Years Of Two Wheel Competition On Guia Circuit

28 Event Victors Throughout Past 51 Years Of Two Wheel Competition On Guia Circuit

With just over a month till the Suncity Macau Grand Prix centres upon the motorsport world, it’s a good time to showcase who have been the most successful two wheel competitors around the fabled Guia Circuit, described by multi times event runner-up Martin Jessopp as a ‘short circuit with walls’.

Since bike racing joined the event schedule in 1967, legendary names a plenty have claimed Macau GP successes including the most winning rider in meeting history, Michael Rutter.

Rutter’s incredible wins total to date at Macau, stands at eight wins, two more than nearest challenger on the all time victories list, 1982 Formula 1 TT victor Ron Haslam.

Photo by Darren Marlowe

Others to have secured at least three or more victories include Stuart Easton, Steve Hislop and reigning event Champion, Ulster GP/TT Races lap record holder Peter Hickman.

Overall 28 racers including inaugural event winner Hiroshi Hasegawa, have throughout the past 52 years emerged victorious following action on the Guia Circuit.

The full list of Macau GP Champions from 1967 through to present times, is as follows:

(Number beside racers name, indicates amount of race wins, acquired by the competitor)

1st Michael Rutter 8
2nd Ron Haslam 6
3rd Stuart Easton 4
T4th Sadao Asami 3
Steve Hislop 3
Peter Hickman 3
T7th Hiroshi Hasegawa 2
Mick Grant 2
Steve Plater 2
T10th John MacDonald 1
Benny Hidayat 1
Akiyasu Motohashi 1
Ikujiro Takai 1
Ken Araoka 1
Hiroyuki Kawasaki 1
Hideo Kanaya 1
Chas Mortimer 1
Kevin Schwantz 1
Robert Dunlop 1
Didier De Radigues 1
Carl Fogarty 1
Mike Edwards 1
Phillip McCallen 1
Andreas Hofmann 1
David Jefferies 1
John McGuinness 1
Ian Hutchinson 1
Glenn Irwin 1

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles