21 Season Re-Cap: Facts/Stats Mix

21 Season Re-Cap: Facts/Stats Mix

International Road Racing Championship:

Twelve racers in total last year claimed IRRC Supersport, Superbike round podium finishes.

This included first time IRRC winners David Datzer, Petr Najman and Performance Racing Achterhoek’s Ilja Caljouw.

Didier Grams remains comfortably at the helm of the all time IRRC race winners list, with 45 victories to date.

New Supersport Champion Pierre Yves Bian became just the tenth different racer to clinch an IRRC affiliated title and the first French competitor to achieve this feat.

Spring Cup:

Bob Smith Spring Cup runner-up Davey Todd gave Wilson Craig Racing their first top five finishes at Scarborough since the 2012 Gold Cup meeting.

Lead Suzuki runner in terms of pace was prospective Manx GP competitor Daniel Forbes, lapping at 1 minute 52.220 seconds.

In total 38 competitors secured top 3 finishes during the Spring Cup whilst a total of 13 racers recorded race wins including first time Scarborough victors Russell Brook and Rob Hodson.

Worth noting as well that 64 racers overall took part in the five lap Supersport races, showcasing the improving popularity of racing at one of the world’s most unique, prestigious road races Oliver’s Mount, Scarborough.


Michael Dunlop’s ninth successive Armoy ‘Race of Legends’ victory took his total of Irish Road Race wins to 109, equalling Phillip McCallen and Ray McCullough.

The Ballymoney racer also gave BMW’s M1000RR it’s first UK, Irish, European road race victories.

Barry Davidson moved closer to joining Dunlop on 100 Irish Road Race victories, following victories in the Supersport 300, Senior 500 Classic races.

Davidson now has 88 Irish roads course triumphs, claiming road race successes over four different decades, the 1990’s, 2000’s, 2010’s, 2020’s.

Cookstown 100:

The quality of competition at the 100th KDM Hire Cookstown 100 was showcased by no less than 40 racers lapping sub 1 minute 36 seconds.

Fastest overall was first time 1000cc roads victor, BE Racing In Conjunction with Richardson Kelly Racing’s Michael Browne.

Browne’s new personal best Cookstown lap time of 1 minute 23.435 seconds, stood just 0.794 shy of Michael Dunlop’s long standing record event lap time from 2013.

Aside from eight times Cookstown winner, others to register impressive lap times under 1 minute 28 seconds were new Supersport lap record holder Adam McLean (1.23.598), Michael Sweeney (1.23.955), Paul Jordan (1.25.970).

Noel Williamson Racing’s Shaun Anderson (1.26.880), feature race runner-up Darryl Tweed (1.27.402), 2018 Junior Manx GP winner James Chawke (1.27.836) and quickest Orritor Circuit newcomer David ‘Action’ Jackson (1.27.850).

Aberdare Park:

Whilst Davey Todd powered to various Lightweight, Supersport, Allcomers victories, the current IRRC Superbike Champion perhaps surprisingly did not finish the racer with the best lap speed/lap time from the latest Aberdare Park Road Races.

This honour went to Wilson Craig Racing team mate, fellow Aberdare Park newcomer Chris Burns who during the Welsh Open Final lapped at 40.051 seconds, equating in miles per hour terms to 80.897 mph.

If you want to further increase your knowledge about pure road racing, find out about a specific fact on your favourite racer, team or manufacturer why not check out the Road Racing News Facts book, you won’t be disappointed!

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles