2023 Manx GP: Blistering Yeardsley Wins Senior Race

2023 Manx GP: Blistering Yeardsley Wins Senior Race
A mix of overnight rain, low clouds, early morning rain immediately threw a spanner in the works for today’s Manx GP racing itinerary.

Once conditions were considered suitable for racing, the Mylchreest Group Senior race, reduced to three laps got underway five hours behind schedule at 4:30 PM.

‘Tommy Club’ member Dan Ingham, aboard Russell Brook’s YZF R6 Yamaha was the first to get the tap on the shoulder from race-starter, Mark Pendlebury.

Lap One:

As anticipated, there was nothing in it as riders reached Glen Helen on lap one with Spin Arena Racing’s Joe Yeardsley leading fellow MGP newcomer Marcus Simpson, by only 0.742 of a second.

Jamie Williams held third 1.592 behind Simpson with Dan Ingham, Chris Cook, David Rigby completing the top six.

Under three seconds covered the first four at Ballaugh Bridge as Yeardsley, Simpson remained first, second, now separated by only 0.3 of a second.

Onto Ramsey Hairpin and it was all change out front, 2022 Irish Road Race Senior Support Championship runner-up Simpson had swooped into first.

Next timing point at the Bungalow would see ‘Spartacus’ as he’s known to many, Simpson, stretch the leading initiative to 4.497, pretty much 4 and a half second advantage.

With the mandatory pit-stop entering the horizon at lap one’s end, Jon Cuff Electrical supported Simpson had a decent seven seconds plus lead over Laxey’s Yeardsley.

IRRC exponent Williams kept third with No.1 plate holder Ingham in fourth, six seconds further back.

Dot Racing’s Rigby, already open about his intention to step up to the TT Races next year, attained fifth ahead of Team ACR’s Cook.

Lap Two:

8.703 seconds was Simpson’s lead once all the pace setters descended upon Glen Helen.

The qualifying week leader’s lead was marginally trimmed at Ballaugh to sub eight seconds.

Top five finishing contender Rigby, challenge ended at Douglas Road Corner. Additional notable early retirements included Damian Horan, Maurizio Bottalico and Tom Robinson at Braddan.

Pre-TT Classic yesteryear Superbike winner Yeardsley, pursuit of race leader Simpson, continued in earnest on the run towards Ramsey Hairpin, slicing his fellow Manxman’s advantage to just past 4.3 seconds.

This was turning into a battle royale between the impeccable MGP debutants.

By lap two’s conclusion, 2.551 separated Simpson and Yeardsley. An intriguing, exciting, compelling final lap was in prospect!

Behind them, NCE Racing’s Williams held P3 but was coming under increasing pressure from Ingham.

Lap Three:

Icons, supreme natural talents, local favourites, grass roots racing heroes have all tasted Senior Manx Grand Prix success. Who would join them?

First timing point Glen Helen across the third, final lap saw Yeardsley dramatically re-take first from Simpson, moving 2.131 ahead.

3.82 seconds was Yeardsley’s lead at Ballaugh Bridge with the Laxey rider on Supersport MGP record-breaking pace.

6.505 clear at Ramsey, R6 Yamaha powered Yeardsley confidently homed in on a famous race triumph.

8.844 ahead once he sped through the Bungalow, the young IOM rider was showing no nerves, as a first Mountain Course victory loomed.

First on the road, race runner-up, new ‘Tommy Club’ member Simpson was first to finish, recording a new official personal best lap speed of 120.738 mph.

Not long after though, race winner, emulating his father Buddy, Yeardsley victorious by 9.545 seconds, went in excess of eleven seconds faster, lapping at 122.051 mph, a new Supersport Manx GP lap-record.

Wrapping up the rostrum finishers, thanks to a last lap topping 120 mph, Melton Mowbray’s Ingham banked third ahead of third place finisher last year, Williams.

Top Kawasaki pilot Cook took fifth with Junior race winner Victor Lopez Santos, Marc Colvin, Jack Fowler, Andrew Fisher, Wilson Craig Racing’s Eddy Ferre sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth respectively.

Senior Manx Grand Prix Race Result:

1st – Joe Yeardsley

2nd – Marcus Simpson

3rd – Dan Ingham

4th – Jamie Williams

5th – Chris Cook

6th – Victor Lopez Santos

7th – Marc Colvin

8th – Jack Fowler

9th – Andrew Fisher

10th – Eddy Ferre

11th – Sam Johnson

12th – Lancelot Unissart

13th – Michael Gahan

14th – Anthony O’Carroll

15th – James Reveley

16th – Liam Chawke

17th – Shaun Evans

18th – Tom Snow

19th – Julien Cregniot

20th – Gaz Evans

21st – Mark Jackson

22nd – Yann Galli

23rd – Ryan Whitehall

24th – Paul Marley

25th – Kevin Rigot

26th – Jim Barnett

27th – Stephen Tobin

28th – Justin Collins

29th – Adam Bauer

30th – Dennis Booth

31st – Michael Gillan

32nd – Erik Kjuus

33rd – Louis O’Regan

34th – Ross Orchard

35th – Cyril Lecocq

36th – Rad Hughes

37th – Stuart McCann

38th – Victor Ortega Perez

39th – Colin Croft

40th – Andy Lovett

41st – Darragh Trappe

42nd – Mike Mace

43rd – Emmett Burke

44th – Graham McAleese

45th – Andreas Jochum

46th – Daniel Forbes

Photo credit: Mark Corlett, Nick Wheeler

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles