2019 North West 200: Hickman Sets Sizzling Pace In Superstock Q1

2019 North West 200: Hickman Sets Sizzling Pace In Superstock Q1

Showing again the qualities that have propelled him thus far, to 12 International Road Race victories, Smiths Racing’s Peter Hickman set a quite sizzling, relentless pace, in securing provisional Superstock pole at the 90th anniversary North West 200.

Hickman and the Smiths BMW, which have proven in recent years a quite formidable combination, dominated the opening Superstock qualifying session, finishing fastest by just over the 1.4 second mark, lapping the fabled Triangle course at 4 minutes 25.891 seconds, which equates in speed terms to an average lap speed of 121.448 mph.

Photo by Rod Neill

Photo by Road Racing Daily

Leading the challenge to the quickest competitor from today’s NW200 competition, was Ashcourt Racing’s in form Lee Johnston.

Johnston (4.27.328), runner up in Supersport Q1, in the mix at the sharp end of Superbike Q1, has enjoyed an excellent day on the Triangle course, as has third quickest Superstock class exponent, Michael Dunlop (4.27.390).

Dunlop jockeying his own teams Carl Cox Motorsport backed BMW, as with previous qualifying sessions looked in truly world class fettle.

The same notion is equally applicable to lead non BMW mounted racer, Quattro Plant Wicked Coatings Kawasaki’s James Hillier (4.28.145).

Sandwiching team green team mates Hillier and Irwin (4.29.867), on the times sheet was the Bathams Racing’s ever reliable Michael Rutter (4.28.194).

Whilst seventh quickest, lead newcomer Richard Cooper (4.30.343) marked himself out as already a dark horse for standout results for Thursday evening, Saturday afternoon’s Superstock encounters.

Completing the ten quickest qualifiers behind Buildbase Suzuki’s Cooper was provisional Superbike pole sitter Dean Harrison (4.30.922), Penz 13 BMW’s Davey Todd (4.32.816) and Dafabet Devitt Racing’s Paul Jordan (4.33.533).

North West 200: Superstock Q1 results, are as follows:

1 Peter Hickman 4.25.891
2 Lee Johnston 4.27.328
3 Michael Dunlop 4.27.390
4 James Hillier 4.28.145
5 Michael Rutter 4.28.194
6 Glenn Irwin 4.29.867
7 Richard Cooper 4.30.343
8 Dean Harrison 4.30.922
9 Davey Todd 4.32.816
10 Paul Jordan 4.33.533
11 Craig Neve 4.34.587
12 Gary Johnson 4.35.279
13 David Johnson 4.35.319
14 Derek Sheils 4.35.742
15 Daley Mathison 4.36.725
16 Derek McGee 4.37.068
17 Jamie Coward 4.37.414
18 Stefano Bonetti 4.37.774
19 Conor Cummins 4.39.385
20 Dominic Herbertson 4.40.630
21 Michael Sweeney 4.41.682
22 Horst Saiger 4.42.149
23 Xavier Denis 4.44.750
24 Lukas Maurer 4.45.080
25 Tom Weeden 4.45.345
26 Neil Kernohan 4.46.817
27 Bruce Birnie 4.51.279
28 Chris Green 4.52.104
29 Mark Goodings 4.52.207
30 James Chawke 4.52.438
31 Paul Williams 4.52.442
32 Kris Duncan 4.52.911
33 Matt Rees 4.54.385
34 Steven Horne 4.54.790
35 Donald MacFadyen 4.56.992
36 Paul Gartland 5.03.324
37 Marty Lennon 5.03.638
38 Raul Torras Martinez 5.04.210
39 Toni Rechberger 5.08.689
40 Patricia Fernandez 5.12.182
41 Andy Sellars 5.14.876
42 Paul Mackey 5.15.073
43 Vassilios Takos 8.49.831

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles