Southern 100 Preview Part 1 – Four Stroke Solo Races

Southern 100 Preview Part 1 – Four Stroke Solo Races
The ever-popular Isle of Man Steam Packet Company Southern 100, has attracted again another top calibre Super Twin, Supersport, Superbike entry which features TT stars, IRRC exponents and seasoned event regulars.

Impeccable across last year’s meeting, Davey Todd will be aiming to showcase similar form next week.

Enduring last month by his standards a challenging TT campaign, the 2022 King of The Roads winner is keen to remind everyone of his undoubted, formidable road racing skillset.

Astride the potent Milenco by Padgetts Hondas, the former IRRC Superbike Champion is well aware that certain roads ‘Aliens’ are out to stop him retaining the prestigious Solo Championship crown.

One of them is modern times S100 racing great, DAO Racing’s Dean Harrison.

Top three finisher times six at TT 2023, Harrison recently lit up the first Oliver’s Mount, Cock O’The North event since 2017, winning eight races, setting a brace of lap records including aboard the Boyce Precision Engineering/Russell Racing Yamaha, which he is due to pilot next week.

Boasting a superb Billown course racing resume, which features 25 S100 victories and three successive Solo Championship titles from 2017-2019, he is certain to be right at the sharp end again.

TT 2023 proved tumultuous for now 25 times TT winner, Hawk Racing’s Michael Dunlop.

Never to be underestimated as shown via last month’s TT heroics, the mercurial Dunlop who’s proven on multiple occasions that the impossible is never not possible, has the turn of speed, will to win, unquestioned star quality to light-up this year’s S100.

It’s not just Todd vs Harrison vs Dunlop though, others with designs on race wins, podium finishes a plenty include triple TT Privateers Champion, anticipated Super Twins class front-runner Jamie Coward (KTS Racing Powered by Steadplan).

S100 wins record holder, Billown racing returnee Ian Lougher, SMT Racing’s in-form Rob Hodson, Paul Jordan (PreZ Racing) and Irish Road Race Supersport Champion, Dominic Herbertson, Super Twins TT Race 1 runner-up Michael Browne (BE/RK Racing).

Added depth to the four stroke solo race fields, are provided by the likes of Rhys Hardisty, Barry Furber, Marcus ‘Spartacus’ Simpson, Xavier Denis.

Paul Cassidy, Michael Russell, Jamie Williams, Richard Charlton, Marc Colvin and Team ILR with Frog Vehicle Developments Joe Yeardsley.

Confirmed S100 newcomers include Will Burchell, Liam Thornton and this year’s quickest North West 200 debutant, Eddy Ferre.

With close fought, top quality competition a certainty, all the usual contenders competing, plus next generation roads forces, the stage is set for classic solo races at the eagerly anticipated, latest Southern 100 edition.

Photo’s by Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles