Pre-TT Classic: Sunday Races Synopsis

Pre-TT Classic: Sunday Races Synopsis

Iconic sounds, sights, smells, lit up feature race-day of the 2024 Blackford’s Pre-TT Classic Road Races.

Held over from last night, the 3 Wheeling Sidecars race opener, saw Shenley/Chipping Campden’s Jack Gristwood/Alice Smith, capture victory laurels, finishing the four-lap race, 3.1 seconds plus in front of Mike Bellaby/Dave Gristwood.

Last race of the day, the second Sidecars race expedition, ended via an incident, from which those involved emerged unscathed.

Following the incident’s aftermath, a dose of oil was down on the fabled Billown circuit.

Organisers elected to not re-start the race, with fifty percent distance covered (two laps).

Declared race winners were Danny Quirk/Sharon Reeves, closely followed by the already above showcased Gristwood/Smith.

In between Sidecar encounters, five solo races featuring many a TT 2024 entrant, Manx GP winners, ultra keen meeting newcomers, didn’t disappoint those track side, witnessing hard-fought, top draw yesteryear race action.

The Greystones LLC backed Senior 500 contest, took it’s fair to say, the title of No.1 race from today’s competition.

After seven laps, Laxey’s Joe Yeardsley (Flitwick Motorcycles – Royal Enfield) pipped Alan Oversby and the Ruthless Racing Honda to P1, with the margin covering them just 0.080 of a second!

Paul Cassidy wrapped up the podium finishers, close to 34 seconds behind Yeardsley and Oversby.

Maintaining the superb form from qualifying stints, eight times Sidecar TT victor Dan Sayle sped to 125cc Post Classic race honours, on route notching up a new class lap record of 2 minutes 59.043 seconds.

Owen Monaghan, Keith Shannon were second, third whilst top Lightweight 250 reins went to Richard Ford with Brian Mateer, Conor Cummins Dad Billy Cummins second, third respectively.

Will Loder doubled his 2024 Pre-TT Classic wins tally via Junior 350 victory, with nearest pursuers Nigel Moore, Harley Rushton.

The consolation race ran over a six-lap distance was won by paddock favourite, Oliver’s Mount Scarborough regular Colin ‘Crofty’ Croft.

John Cliffe, Sam Naughton acquired second, third place finishes with Rob Lowe, Rod Graham, renowned vlogger Blake Kelly fourth, fifth, sixth.

In terms of yesteryear Superbike thrills, Joe Yeardsley successfully retained the Senior Superbike title.

Inside 18 seconds was Yeardsley’s victorious margin over fellow Manxman Paul Cassidy. CK Racing Ducati mounted Andy Farrell making a much-welcomed return to Billown, attained third.

One of the pre-race favourites, Marcus ‘Spartacus’ Simpson, astride the MGB Racing Kawasaki, was a non-starter following mechanical gremlins.

Results per race, read as follows:

Sidecars Race 1:

1st – Jack Gristwood/Alice Smith
2nd – Mike Bellaby/Dave Gristwood
3rd – Tony Thirkell/William Moralee
4th – Danny Quirk/Sharon Reeves
5th – Kenny Howles/Jordan Forrest
6th – James Blackmore/Trevor Johnson
7th – Mike Cookson/Kenny Cole
8th – Adam Pope/John Christopher

Senior 500:

1st – Joe Yeardsley
2nd- Alan Oversby
3rd – Paul Cassidy
4th – Will Loder
5th – Kelly Carruthers
6th – Aaron Hughes
7th – Nigel Moore
8th – Tom Snow
9th – Tomo Burnett
10th – Steven Elliott
11th – Rod Graham

125 Post Classic:

1st – Dan Sayle
2nd – Owen Monaghan
3rd – Keith Shannon
4th – Simon Lehane
5th – Mark Herbertson
6th – Rhys Callister

250 Lightweight:

1st – Richard Ford
2nd – Brian Mateer
3rd – Billy Cummins
4th – Andy Hunt
5th – Barry Davidson
6th – Bob Dowty
7th – Richard Hunt

Junior 350:

1st – Will Loder
2nd – Nigel Moore
3rd – Harley Rushton
4th – Hefyn Owen
5th – Andy Hunt
6th – Steven Elliott
7th – Kelly Carruthers
8th – Mark Johnson
9th – Leon Murphy
10th – Shelley Pike

11th – Rob Lowe
12th – Angela Cragg
13th – Dave Glover
14th – Gary Hutton
15th – Stephen Walsh

Consolation Race:

1st – Colin Croft
2nd – John Cliffe
3rd – Sam Naughton
4th – Rob Lowe
5th – Rod Graham
6th – Blake Kelly
7th – Andrew Guy
8th – Stevan Radakovic
9th – Andrew Jessop
10th – Gary Hutton

11th – Adam Randles
12th – Paul McMahon
13th – Dale Brew
14th – Mick Moreton

Senior Superbike:

1st – Joe Yeardsley
2nd – Paul Cassidy
3rd – Andy Farrell
4th – Marc Colvin
5th – Aaron Hughes
6th – Andy Hornby
7th – Anthony Redmond
8th – Don Gilbert
9th – Dennis Booth
10th – Michal Dokoupil

11th – Mark Herbertson
12th – Hefyn Owen
13th – Darran Creer
14th – Kelly Carruthers
15th – Rodger Wibberley
16th – Dean Ratcliff
17th – Roddy Taylor
18th – Emmett Burke
19th – Rob Mitchel-Hill
20th – Paul Turner

Sidecars Race 2:

1st – Danny Quirk/Sharon Reeves
2nd – Jack Gristwood/Alice Smith
3rd – Tony Thirkell/William Moralee
4th – James Blackmore/Trevor Johnson
5th – Greg Lambert/Andrew Haynes
6th – Mike Cookson/Kenny Cole
7th – Adam Pope/John Christopher
8th – Kenny Howles/Jordan Forrest

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles