Pikes Peak: Scaysbrook Sets New Race Record, Barber Impresses, Holan Finishes Lead Newcomer

Pikes Peak: Scaysbrook Sets New Race Record, Barber Impresses, Holan Finishes Lead Newcomer

Long term event front runner Rennie Scaysbrook added his name today to the American motorsport history books, by setting a new fastest motorcycling time at the world famous, illustrious, highly acclaimed Pikes Peak International Hill Climb.

Consistently each year in contention for overall two wheeling honours, 1100 V4 Tuono Aprilia mounted Scaysbrook record breaking lap time today stood at an astonishing 9 minutes 44.963 seconds.

Exhibition powersport class front runner Lucy Glockner (9.58.878), Codie Vahsholtz (10.03.908) respectively clinched second, third place finishes.

Rob Barber (10.19.040) aboard the University of Nottingham EV (Electric Vehicle) took second place within the exhibition powersport class, plus finished an overall excellent fourth in front of respected Pikes Peak exponents including lead Lightweight machinery exponent Chris Fillmore (10.20.819).

Photo by Robby Repsol

Akinori Inoue (10.36.884) placed sixth, Czech roads star Kamil Holan (10.38.109) finishing leading event newcomer in seventh place as Middleweight class pace setter Rafael Paschoalin (10.43.880), Cory West (10.46.233) and Stefan Dolipski (11.11.915) finalised the top ten finishers.

Seasoned TT Races campaigner Eric Wilson (11.19.133) maiden USA road racing quest ended with a very respectable 14th place finish, whilst overall 21 riders completed their stints around the ultra challenging Pikes Peak course.

Overall results from the 97th Pikes Peak International Hill Climb, are as follows:

1 Rennie Scaysbrook 9.44.963
2 Lucy Glockner 9.58.878
3 Codie Vahsholtz 10.03.908
4 Rob Barber 10.19.040
5 Chris Fillmore 10.20.819
6 Akinori Inoue 10.36.884
7 Kamil Holan 10.38.109
8 Rafael Paschoalin 10.43.880
9 Cory West 10.46.233
10 Stefan Dolipski 11.11.915
11 Darryl Lujan 11.15.666
12 Yasuo Arai 11.18.220
13 Michael Woolaway 11.18.671
14 Eric Wilson 11.19.133
15 Greg Chicoine 11.20.665
16 Richard Kay 11.20.959
17 Joseph Toner 11.29.415
18 Theo Bernhard 11.46.961
19 Thomas Kendall 11.50.151
20 Sun Tong 12.10.260
21 Jimi Heyder 12.58.629

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles