North West 200: Irwin Overhauls Harrison, Obliterates Superbike Qualifying Record

North West 200: Irwin Overhauls Harrison, Obliterates Superbike Qualifying Record

Illustrating again his unique ability on the Triangle course, Quattro Plant Wicked Coatings Kawasaki’s Glenn Irwin emerged on top in a quite scintillating, ultra simulating second Superbike qualifying session, at the FonaCAB International North West 200 In Association With Nicholl Oils.

Originally headed in the session by Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison, who quickly unofficially broke the outright lap record, lapping at 4 minutes 21.973 seconds, it wasn’t long till fellow team green member Irwin created yet another piece of NW200 history.

Hitting the sweet spot at just the right time, all the frustrations of previous BSB rounds, a challenging opening qualifying session, were put behind him when he recorded a new unofficial outright lap record, lapping at 4 minutes 21.767 seconds.

Photo by Rod Neill

The momentous lap time would prove more than enough for Irwin, to claim pole position for Saturday’s big bike encounters, that are certain to be of a very, very fast pace.

Photo by Road Racing Daily

Third quickest behind Irwin, Harrison, was Be Wiser Ducati’s Alastair Seeley (4.22.044), who was also under the existing lap record, lapping close to the sub 4 minute 22 second mark.

Fourth fastest, Michael Dunlop (4.24.836) lead the BMW Motorrad challenge, whilst Padgetts Conor Cummins (4.25.116) quietly impressed, in finishing an overall very creditable fifth quickest.

Next up on the final Superbike timed practice sheet was Ashcourt Racing’s Lee Johnston (4.25.823), who was closely followed by RC213V-S Honda mounted Michael Rutter (4.26.200).

Concluding the ten fastest overall qualifiers were Buildbase Suzuki’s accomplished NW200 debutant Richard Cooper (4.27.051), Honda Racing’s Ian Hutchinson (4.28.107) and the ever consistent James Hillier (4.28.170).

North West 200: Overall Superbike qualifying results, are as follows:

1 Glenn Irwin 4.21.767
2 Dean Harrison 4.21.973
3 Alastair Seeley 4.22.044
4 Michael Dunlop 4.24.836
5 Conor Cummins 4.25.116
6 Lee Johnston 4.25.823
7 Michael Rutter 4.26.200
8 Richard Cooper 4.27.051
9 Ian Hutchinson 4.28.107
10 James Hillier 4.28.170
11 Peter Hickman 4.30.021
12 Derek Sheils 4.30.737
13 David Johnson 4.32.082
14 Davey Todd 4.32.087
15 Paul Jordan 4.32.319
16 Jamie Coward 4.33.440
17 Craig Neve 4.34.225
18 Gary Johnson 4.34.490
19 Daley Mathison 4.34.571
20 Horst Saiger 4.36.826

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles