Road Racing News

MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix: Dominant Hickman Seals Provisional Superbike Pole

Peter Hickman sealed provisional Superbike pole to conclude a truly dominant day at Dundrod, topping the time sheets in every qualifying session, that he took part in.

At one point fastest overall on his Superstock machine!, Peter went onto lap at 132.453 mph on the Smiths BMW in Superbike trim, to lay down a significant marker ahead of the big bike encounters at the world’s fastest road race.

Photo by Rod Neill

Fastest by over a second, it’s going to take some truly memorable performances in my opinion, to stop the three times international road race winner from scooping at minimum this week a hat trick of victories.

Bruce Anstey (131.733) was close to the 132 mph mark, in finishing second quickest, not to far in front of Padgetts team mate, Dundrod specialist Conor Cummins (131.585).

Enjoying a much better session on the Bennetts Suzuki, Michael Dunlop lapped at 131.472 mph to finish fourth fastest, as Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison (130.858) also vastly improved his pace, from the earlier Dundrod 150 Superbike qualifying session.

Same applied to Dan Kneen (130.732) who’s gelling quickly with the Tyco BMW’s, whilst William Dunlop (130.413) and Cookstown BE Racing’s Derek Sheils (130.073), where the only remaining competitors to break the 130 mph barrier.

Rounding out the provisional ten fastest Superbike qualifiers where, Derek McGee and the returning Lee Johnston, who produced a gritty performance on the East Coast Racing BMW, to finish 10th quickest.

MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix – Superbike Q1 Results:

1 Peter Hickman 132.453
2 Bruce Anstey 131.733
3 Conor Cummins 131.585
4 Michael Dunlop 131.472
5 Dean Harrison 130.858
6 Dan Kneen 130.732
7 William Dunlop 130.413
8 Derek Sheils 130.073
9 Derek McGee 128.437
10 Lee Johnston 128.423
11 David Johnson 127.998
12 Daley Mathison 127.783
13 Jamie Coward 127.600
14 Sam West 127.556
15 Dan Cooper 126.769
16 Brian McCormack 126.599
17 Dan Hegarty 126.501
18 Phil Crowe 126.448
19 Alistair Kirk 126.377
20 Ivan Lintin 126.141

Words by Stevie Rial