MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix: Cool Harrison Scoops Superstock Pole

MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix: Cool Harrison Scoops Superstock Pole

Although a touch blustery, pretty decent conditions all round at Dundrod, were on the horizon for competitors for the second timed Superstock practice session.

With live timing encountering problems, it was difficult at times to tell who looked in good fettle, who seemed in extremely proficient form and who was on course to chalk up for the first pole position, of the 2018 MCE Insurance Ulster Grand Prix.

Despite this, once the timing screens updated, you could tell that the cream had risen to the top. Bolstering his reputation as a pre race favourite, Silicone Engineering Racing’s Dean Harrison (3.20.668) lapping at 132.776 mph, just had enough pace to hold off hugely respected rival Peter Hickman (3.21.310), to claim Superstock pole.

Just over six tenths of a second covered the racers, who are considered by many at this moment in time as the world’s leading International road racers.

Third fastest behind Hickman and Harrison, was the hugely impressive Davey Todd (3.22.714). Cookstown BE Racing’s Todd strongly leading the Suzuki challenge, looked not at all out of place in the company of his fellow countryman in the battle for qualifying honours.

Nudging over the 131.5 mph mark, he was over four tenths clear of fourth quickest Conor Cummins (3.23.205), who in turn enjoyed a moderately strong advantage over Tyco BMW’s David Johnson (3.23.998) and works Honda racer Lee Johnston (3.25.299).

Eighth quickest overall, but seventh fastest this morning, new Dafabet Devitt Racing signing Paul Jordan (3.26.435) looked extremely accomplished aboard his new Kawasaki steed.

Concluding today’s ten quickest qualifiers were Adam McLean (3.26.529), PRL Racing’s Sam West (3.29.144) and TAG Racing IRL’s Brian McCormack (3.29.245).

Combined Superstock qualifying results, are as follows:

1 Dean Harrison 3.20.668
2 Peter Hickman 3.21.310
3 Davey Todd 3.22.714
4 Conor Cummins 3.23.205
5 David Johnson 3.23.998
6 Lee Johnston 3.25.299
7 Derek McGee 3.26.146
8 Paul Jordan 3.26.435
9 Adam McLean 3.26.529
10 Sam West 3.29.144
11 Brian McCormack 3.29.245
12 Michael Sweeney 3.29.352
13 Dan Cooper 3.29.592
14 Dominic Herbertson 3.29.836
15 Ryan Kneen 3.29.971
16 Shaun Anderson 3.30.126
17 David Jackson 3.30.961
18 Michael Booth 3.31.940
19 Mark Goodings 3.32.531
20 Darren Cooper 3.33.131

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles