IRRC Hengelo: Wildcard Walraven Seals Superbike Pole, Newcomer Webb Third Quickest

IRRC Hengelo: Wildcard Walraven Seals Superbike Pole, Newcomer Webb Third Quickest

If competition today at Hengelo, is anything to go by, were most definitely in for an enthralling 2018 IRRC Superbike championship.

On home soil, it was Dutch event wildcard Nigel Walraven (1.46.409), who topped the time sheets, finishing over half a second clear of nearest challenger in qualifying, IRRC legend Didier Grams (1.46.998).

German roads great Grams, in turn was under 0.3 of a second in front of Hengelo newcomer, Penz 13 BMW’s Danny Webb. Webb’s stellar qualifying performance, backed up why many are tipping him as a dark horse for an abundance of elite results, throughout his maiden IRRC tilt.

Markka Racing’s Erno Kostamo (1.47.380) showed good form in finishing fourth quickest, he was followed on the time sheets by Czech roads royalty, in the form of 2017 series runner up, Marek Cerveny (1.48.293).

Jonathan Goetschy (1.49.565) sixth quickest, caught the eye by outpacing experienced series competitors, Johan Fredriks (1.49.737) and Kamil Holan (1.50.772), whilst Jamie Coward’s maiden appearance within the IRRC fraternity, saw him finish a very respectable ninth fastest.

Concluding the top ten in qualifying, was the ever enthusiastic Lukas Maurer, who was the sole remaining racer to lap under the 1 minute 52 seconds mark.

Full combined qualifying results from Hengelo, are as follows:

1 Nigel Walraven 1.46.409
2 Didier Grams 1.46.998
3 Danny Webb 1.47.210
4 Erno Kostamo 1.47.380
5 Marek Cerveny 1.48.293
6 Jonathan Goetschy 1.49.565
7 Johan Fredriks 1.49.737
8 Kamil Holan 1.50.772
9 Jamie Coward 1.50.789
10 Lukas Maurer 1.51.398
11 Nico Muller 1.52.147
12 Marnix D’Hondt 1.52.329
13 Pavel Tomecek 1.52.542
14 Ales Nechvatal 1.52.828
15 Joey Den Besten 1.52.857
16 Tomas Borovka 1.53.420
17 Davy Maes 1.53.456
18 Steven Galens 1.54.189
19 David Datzer 1.54.794
20 Timo Schonhals 1.55.280
21 Eddy Maniguet 1.56.938
22 Jan Kopponen 1.57.338
23 Paul Manx 1.57.956
24 Nadieh Schoots 1.58.548
25 Yannik Jacops 1.59.252
26 Jurgen Welsing 1.59.274
27 Rob Van Eijs 1.59.417
28 Robert Heitzinger 1.59.453
29 Hanno Brandenburger 1.59.707
29 Jean Pierre Polet 1.59.918
30 Ryan Trocherie 2.00.847
31 Yann Galli 2.00.886
32 Kurt Haek 2.00.929
33 Foti Psomadakis 2.01.736
34 Ricky Wagner 2.01.801
35 Fabrice Miguet 2.05.771

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles