Road Racing News

Haworth, Moore, Axon To Make Manx GP Returns

Joining the likes of Stephen Parsons, Stephen Smith, Team DHR’s Darryl Tweed, reigning Lightweight class champion Andy Farrell, Australia’s Royce Rowe, Chris Preston Racing’s Nathan Harrison on this years Manx GP entry list, due to relaxed eligibility regulations, will be a trio of notable event returnees.

2013 Lightweight class victor Alistair Haworth is set to return to Manx shores, as is Super Twins class champion from 2012, Nigel Moore.

400, two stroke machinery specialists Haworth, Moore will be joined on this years Manx GP entry list, by third place finisher within the 2011 Newcomers B race, Wayne ‘Ciderman’ Axon.

Since 2012 a TT competitor, Axon’s Manx return will see him tackle both of the four lap Lightweight races, competing under his own teams banner.

Overall the entry for this years Manx GP, looks in great shape, with capacity full grids confirmed for each class, including the reintroduced Newcomers C category.

Speaking about entry numbers for this August’s meet, which will see former/current race winners, podium finishers, rising stars, next gen racers battle for respective class honours, Manx Motorcycle Club Chairman, Peter Maddocks, candidly stated:

“We are once again delighted to have received entries from every continent, to compete on the greatest road racing circuit in the world.

This will be our 2nd year running the Ultra Lightweight Race for 125, 400cc, Moto 3 and Supersport 300 machines.

Although numbers are not as large as we had anticipated, the Club is determined to show its’ commitment to those riders who have acquired machines to compete in this race. The Newcomers C Race will also return this year for riders with machines of the same capacity.”

Words by Stevie Rial