Gold Cup Preview Series Part 2 – Super Twins Captivation

Gold Cup Preview Series Part 2 – Super Twins Captivation
Super Twins races at Scarborough never fail to excite, pulsate, captivate those watching track side.

No quarter given, no quarter asked racing is a guarantee again next week with a diverse pool of 35 plus speedsters pushing for class honours.

Dominant twins’ victor times two at the Barry Sheene Classic, GSS Ltd Kawasaki pilot Gary McCoy starts amongst the prime contenders for race wins.

You can apply to same factor to fellow countryman, reigning Steve Henshaw Gold Cup Champion Adam McLean.

Podium finisher times two from the Twins encounters of this year’s North-West 200, the Tobermore racer has a good record in the closely contested category.

SMT Racing’s Rob Hodson, like McLean star has shone astride Twins machinery throughout 2023.

In-particular at Oliver’s Mount, the combination of Hodson and the SMT Racing/KH Commercials Z650 Kawasaki has proved tough to beat, with the Wigan racer banking four class successes.

In addition to the likes of Hodson, McLean, McCoy, other notable Kawasaki powered participants include a certain, 107 times Oliver’s Mount race winner, Dean Harrison!

Toby Shann (Addplant), the Isle of Man’s sole IRRC regular Jamie Williams (NCE Racing), Kevin Barsby, Paul Marley, Roddy Taylor (Jock Borthwick Haulage/St Boswells/Scottish Borders), newcomers Paul Cassidy (Island Fuels) and Luke Blevins.

There is just one Paton pilot but a notable one, Scarborough wins record holder Ian Lougher (Team ILR with Frog Vehicle Developments).

Aprilia’s growing in popularity RS660 model has firm representation, with no less than ten racers opting to jockey the TT rostrum finishing steed.

This includes Russell Brook (Brook Built Racing), Dave Hewson (Obsession Engineering), Ben Rea (Rea Racing), Alex Sinclair.

Oliver Dean (OC Graphics Racing), Martin Morris, high-profile Scarborough debutants Brian McCormack (Global Robots/PHR Performance) and ‘130 Mph Club’ TT member Shaun Anderson aboard the Alan Chamley Racing/MBR Motorsports Aprilia, which was piloted during the 100th Anniversary Manx Grand Prix by Rodger Wibberley.

Barry Furber is back astride MT-07 Yamaha tackle whilst added confirmed entrants for the six-lap Arai Super Twin races, include Stonehouse’s Dean Ratcliff, Dave Walsh, Jamie Kelman.

Grantham’s Jack Turner and history-maker, the first one armed racer to circulate around Oliver’s Mount during this Century, Chris Ganley.

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou
Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles