Dunlop, Yeardsley Star In Latest Classic SBK/Senior MGP Qualifying Stint

Dunlop, Yeardsley Star In Latest Classic SBK/Senior MGP Qualifying Stint

With pretty much perfect conditions albeit a touch windy, lap speeds ratcheted up within the yesteryear Superbike, Senior classes.

First on the road, Michael Dunlop remained for the third successive qualifying session, no.1 amongst the Classic Superbike scene.

The Supersport, Super Twins TT lap record holder achieved this feat via a standing start lap speed of 125.699 mph (18:00.582 seconds).

P2 on this afternoon’s Classic SBK leader-board showing good form, was 2019 class victor, Team ACR’s David Johnson (124.433).

Just 1.558 seconds down on Johnson’s speed was Dean Harrison (124.256) and the striking Key Racing 916 Ducati.

Rob Hodson (124.127), Dominic Herbertson (124.116) both nudged over the 124-mph barrier on route to finishing respectively fourth, fifth quickest.

Six more competitors registered 120-mph laps, Craig Neve (123.814), Julian Trummer (122.302), Brian McCormack (122.189), Derek Sheils (121.149), Macau GP wins record holder Michael Rutter (121.116) and Ryan Cringle (120.685).

The 120-mph mark was also attained by the Senior Supersport pace-setters, unofficial new ‘Tommy Club’ member Tom Robinson (120.128) and Brook Built Yamaha jockey Dan Ingham (120.251).

Third best in the Senior category, recording a superb new PB lap speed of 119.318 mph was the very, very impressive Joe Yeardsley.

Yeardsley, son of former Mountain Course exponent Buddy Yeardsley, mentored by twice TT winner Chris Palmer, is already showing why many consider him one of the Isle of Man’s leading new wave, pure road racing talents.

Fellow impressive MGP first-timers, finishing seventh, tenth fastest were 48 plate holder Marcus Simpson (118.601) and Dot Racing’s David Rigby (117.857).

Others to name but a few, powering to unofficial personal best laps included:

Team ILR with Mark Coverdale’s Maurizio Bottalico (119.184), Sam Mousley (119.037), Wilson Craig Racing’s Eddy Ferre (115.836).

Anthony O’Carroll (114.027), Ryan Whitehall (112.253), Kevin Rigot (111.972), Julien Cregniot (110.437).

Overall, 42 racers set 110 mph + laps, 49 competitors in total set representative lap times.

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles