2023 Manx GP: Sunday Qualifying Wrap Up

2023 Manx GP: Sunday Qualifying Wrap Up


Next generation Italian roads force Andrea Majola, sprinted to the top of this afternoon’s Junior Manx GP qualifying leader-board.

Lapping from a standing start at 111.380 mph, Majola astride the Manici Racing Team Paton, flying lap would see him lap at 113.277 mph.

11.393 seconds in arrears to Majola, finishing second fastest was No.1 plate carrier, Marc Colvin (112.21).

Behind Colvin, three more pilots topped the 110-mph lap mark, Maurizio Bottalico (111.201) and rapid newcomers Dave Rigby (110.702), Joe Yeardsley (110.33).

Wrapping up today’s ten speediest Super Twins exponents were Marcus Simpson (109.979), 2018 Newcomers B race victor Michael Rees (109.648), Jack Fowler (109.572) and Mike Mace (105.958).

Senior Classic:

Putting to one side helmet afflicted issues during his opening timed lap, 23 times TT winner John McGuinness MBE ended the day P1 in the Senior Classics category.

Aboard the Team Winfield 500 Paton, the seven times Senior TT Champion post his flying lap, banked a lap speed of 108.472 mph.

Second best to the Morecambe roads legend in the reduced session, following a non-racing medical emergency was prior pace setter, Chasin the Racin host Dominic Herbertson (107.580).

Herbertson may have set an even more potent lap speed during his flying lap, only to stop at Crosby Hotel.

Third fastest, deputising for Jamie Coward astride Craven Classic Racing’s Manx Norton, Dean Harrison (106.286) showcased his proven Mountain Course calibre.

Armoy ‘Race of Legends’ runner-up Michael Browne (103.221), Alan Oversby (102.458), Michael Russell (101.677), Michael Evans (100.179) additionally looked in decent fettle.

Similar applied to eight-tenth fastest competitors, Derek Sheils (98.898), Andy Hornby (97.141) and Will Loder (96.886).


Fastest overall in the new-look, expanded Lightweight category was Laylaw Racing’s Ian Lougher, thanks to a best lap speed of 112.635 mph.

Just 4.699 down on Lougher’s turn of speed was Kramer jockey, ‘130 Mph Club’ member Shaun Anderson (112.198).

Super Twins TT rostrum finisher Paul Jordan (109.915), piloting for the first time 450 machinery on the world-famous Manx roads, took third on today’s times-sheet.

Three two-stroke 250 mounted racers followed Jordan on the live timing screens, Chris Moore (108.607), Stuart Hall (107.641) and Gareth Arnold (107.491).

Seventh fastest, leading Ultra-Lightweight category runner was TT 2023 participant, renowned Jurby Airfield front-runner Paul Cassidy (104.675).

Best of the rest behind 42 plate holder Cassidy were Tom Snow (103.359), Rad Hughes (102.935) and Scotsman Leon Murphy (101.509).

Photo credit: Mark Corlett

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles