TT 2019: Solo Races Stats/Facts Wrap Up

TT 2019: Solo Races Stats/Facts Wrap Up

Joey Dunlop Championship winner Peter Hickman, Dunlop Senior TT victor Dean Harrison now have combined eight TT victories.

Hickman and Harrison, still the only two racers to have lapped the Mountain Course, at over the 134 mph lap mark, additionally have amassed between them thus far, 30 TT rostrum finishes.

All but one of Hickman’s TT podium finishes have been with the Smiths Racing team, whilst 13 of Harrison’s TT podium finishes have been with the Silicone Engineering Racing crew.

The newest member of the prestigious ‘130 mph club’ is PreZ Racing’s Jamie Coward (130.317), who is also now officially the fastest Yamaha mounted racer in TT history, plus the tenth different winner of the prestigious Privateers Championship.

Others to acquire huge personal best lap speeds in last Friday’s Dunlop Senior TT included Davey Todd (131.491), Brian McCormack (128.812), Davies Motorsport’s Dominic Herbertson (129.587) and lead TT newcomer of 2019 Lukas Maurer (123.645).

Michael Rutter remains unbeaten in the innovative TT Zero class, maintaining his 100 percent winning record with five victories from five starts.

Rutter’s seventh TT success from last Thursday, equals the amount of TT triumph’s secured by his Dad Tony Rutter.

Michael Dunlop’s successful retention of the Bennetts Lightweight crown, took the total of TT victories by the Dunlop family to incredibly 50.

Photo by Nick Wheeler

Now 19 times a TT winner, M.Dunlop is only four victories away from the amount of TT wins acquired by John McGuinness.

Last Thursday’s substantial race schedule, marked the first time in history that five races in a day had been run at the TT Races.

Such was the persistent, inconsistent, dreary weather at TT 2019, that overall racers only competed for six days around the fabled, mythical Mountain Course, with six practice sessions cancelled and two days of race action abandoned.

All but six of the finishers in last Friday’s Dunlop Senior TT, claimed bronze, silver replica finishes, with 24 of the 34 finishers averaging over 120 mph per lap, over the six lap race.

Photo by Mark Corlett

Conor Cummins who led the Honda challenge in the Superbike, Senior races, total of TT podium finishes is now into double figures.

Now a ten times TT podium finisher, his rostrum finishes total at the world’s most famous, illustrious roads event is the same as heroes, legends such as David Jefferies, Cameron Donald, Dave Wells and Brian Reid.

Others to jump up the TT podium finishers order following TT 2019, include James Hillier, now equal on podium’s with none other than Robert Dunlop.

Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1 winner, Ashcourt Racing’s Lee Johnston is just the 12th different solo class winner from TT affiliated competition in this decade.

17 countries were represented at TT 2019, including for the first time Slovakia by Manx GP to TT graduate Miroslav Sloboda.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles