TT 2016 Superbike/Senior Top 20 Start Numbers Announced

TT 2016 Superbike/Senior Top 20 Start Numbers Announced

The top 20 seeded start numbers for the superbike and senior races at TT 2016, have been announced.

As anticipated 23 times TT winner John McGuinness retains the number one plate, as he bids to add to his great record around the Mountain Course.

One of the biggest changes to the starting order sees reigning RST superbike TT winner Bruce Anstey move to start number two.

In recent years Bruce has held the number five plate, the last time he held the number two plate was back in 2010.

Next up at number three is Quattro Plant Muc Off Kawasaki’s James Hillier, tipped by many for great moments a plenty during TT 2016.

11 times TT winner Ian Hutchinson carries the number four plate, as he embarks on a new challenge with Tyco BMW.


Intriguingly two of his fellow pre race favourites start just behind him with Peter Hickman at number five, on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki, whilst Michael Dunlop and Hawk Racing S1000RR BMW, are next up at six.

At seven it’s two time TT winner Gary Johnson, at eight it’s Ivan Curran/CD Racing’s William Dunlop, at nine it’s Michael Rutter set to compete for Bathams SMT Racing, Conor Cummins completes the top ten starters.

Having lead Norton’s challenge at the previous two TT’s, Cameron Donald holding the number 11 plate is set for a return to the Wilson Craig Racing fold.

Like Cameron, Dean Harrison at number 12 returns to machinery he’s enjoyed great success on over the years, as he returns to piloting Kawasaki’s with Silicone Engineering Racing.

East Coast Racing’s Lee Johnston holds his customary number 13 as Dan Kneen as at TT 2014 carries the number 14 plate, this time competing on Mar Train Racing’s YZF R1M Yamaha.

David Johnson set to lead Norton’s challenge is next away at 15, Ryan Farquhar recently announced as part of Tyco BMW’s TT 2016 stable carries number 16.

2012 TT privateers champion Dan Stewart is at 17, newly seeded competitor Martin Jessopp is at number 18 on the Riders Motorcycles S1000RR BMW.

The top 20 is completed by Jackson Racing’s Steve Mercer and current lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin.

TT 2016 superbike/senior top 20 start numbers:

1 John McGuinness
2 Bruce Anstey
3 James Hillier
4 Ian Hutchinson
5 Peter Hickman
6 Michael Dunlop
7 Gary Johnson
8 William Dunlop
9 Michael Rutter
10 Conor Cummins
11 Cameron Donald
12 Dean Harrison
13 Lee Johnston
14 Dan Kneen
15 David Johnson
16 Ryan Farquhar
17 Dan Stewart
18 Martin Jessopp
19 Steve Mercer
20 Ivan Lintin

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *