Spring Cup National Road Races – Day Two Round Up

Spring Cup National Road Races – Day Two Round Up

With much improved conditions, day two of the Spring Cup National Road Races at Oliver’s Mount, began with series of morning warm up sessions.

Senior Race 2:

The second senior race saw Dean Harrison, make it back to back victories on Silicone Engineering Racing’s superstock ZX10R Kawasaki.

It was Dean’s thirty fifth success around the mount, as he finished 2.017 seconds in front of Ivan Lintin, during a closely fought eight lap race.


Dan Hegarty, long time race leader, finished an excellent third, on RTR Motorcycles/Classic Joinery ZX10R Kawasaki.

Frank Gallagher, sealed a highly impressive fourth place finish, whilst Billy Redmayne clinched fifth place finish, speedy recovery to Billy who was involved in a serious incident during the Bob Smith Spring Cup.

Completing the top six finishers was Alan Bonner, who made it a Kawasaki 1-2-3-4-5-6, a unique achievement for the manufacturer who’s last Steve Henshaw international gold cup success happened in 2011 with Ryan Farquhar.

Mick Goodings lead the non Kawasaki challenge, as he propelled Motorcraft Conversions backed CBR 1000 Honda Fireblade to seventh place finish, Team York Suzuki backed Mark Goodings finished a highly creditable eighth.

Brian Greenfield and 2009 senior Manx Grand Prix winner Michael Russell, finalised the top ten finishers.

Sidecars Race 2:

Ian Bell/Carl Bell held off a strong challenge from Lee Crawford/Sam Christie, to seal sidecar race two victory.

Steve Ramsden/Matty Ramsden where an impressive third whilst Conrad Harrison/Lee Patterson, had an eventful race, on their way to fourth place finish.

Dave Wallis/Harry Payne where fifth, Dean Lindley/Robert Bell where sixth, Dean Nicholls/Benjamin Avison Oliver’s Mount debutants where seventh, Greg Lambert/Kenny Cole battled away to eighth place finish.

Jim Noble/Shaun Chandler and Brian Alflatt/Mark Cash concluded the top ten finishers, during a top quality sidecar encounter, which saw Ian Bell/Carl Bell pushed by rising stars Lee Crawford/Sam Christie.

Lightweight Race 1:

Paul Owen produced a top draw all round performance, to win the only lightweight race, at the Spring Cup National Road Races.

Piloting his Team 98 RS250 Honda, Paul lead home fellow Welshman Ian Lougher by over 19 seconds.

Jay Bellers Smith made it an all Wales top three, as he enjoyed one of his best rides to date, on the roads.

Alistair Haworth lead the 400 challenge in fourth, Justin Waring was fifth, the top six was wrapped up by Paul Gartland.

Joe Thompson secured seventh place finish, Peter Boast finished a more than creditable eighth as Chris Green and Phil Munday completed the top ten finishers.

Junior A Race 2:

Dean Harrison made it a hat trick of victories at the spring cup in the second junior A race, following another first class display from the second fastest rider in history around Oliver’s Mount.

Fellow ZX6R Kawasaki mounted rider Ivan Lintin, ended a productive two days of pure road racing action, with second place finish, next meeting on the horizon for Ivan and Devitt RC Express Racing, is the Vauxhall International North West 200.

Lee Johnston finished third, showing good form on the East Coast Racing 675 Daytona Triumph. Tom Weeden produced one of the rides of the race, finishing fourth, on his own teams 675 Daytona Triumph.

James Cowton powered his way through to fifth place finish, showcasing the potential of the Cowton Racing by Radcliffe’s CBR 600 Honda.

Barry Evans, runner up in the 2015 newcomers A Manx Grand Prix was an impressive sixth, Dave Hewson was seventh, Mick Goodings was eighth, Mark Goodings was ninth, Rodger Wibberley was tenth on the team RWR YZF R6 Yamaha.

Junior B Race 2:

Adrian Harrison was the dominant force in the second junior B race, as he and the Printing Roller Services backed CBR 600 Honda, surged to race victory.

Oliver’s Mount newcomer Mike Norbury, completed an impressive mount debut, with second place finish.

Chris Cook finished a great third whilst PRF Racing’s Robin Howells was also impressive in fourth.

David Lewis was fifth, Gary Graves on his Scarborough return was sixth, Matthew Rees powered the Kinpac backed MV Agusta, to seventh place finish.

The top ten was rounded out by Jason Corcoran, Andrew Cuthbert and Optimark Road Racing’s Morgan Govignon.

Solo Non Qualifiers

Paul Gartland emerged triumphant in the solo non qualifiers race, following a highly accomplished display, on the Rod Lee Racing backed ZX10R Kawasaki.

Matthew Rees kept up the Kawasaki dominance, with second place finish.

Impressive Oliver’s Mount newcomer Jamie Williams finished a great third.

Further stand out performances included Andrew Hayes in fourth, Christian Slater in fifth and Dougie Shearer in sixth.

Paul Marley was seventh, Andrew Sellars was eighth, the final finisher in ninth was Peter Creer.

Unfortunately the solo non qualifiers race marked the final action of this years Spring Cup National Road Races.

The Bob Smith Spring Cup race, will now take place during the Cock Of The North Road Races.

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *