NW200: Irwin Makes It Six Consecutive Superbike Victories

NW200: Irwin Makes It Six Consecutive Superbike Victories

Due to on-going tyre problems, the bulk of racers using Dunlop rubber including Davey Todd, Peter Hickman, Conor Cummins, Dean Harrison and Michael Dunlop did not take part in the feature Merrow Hotel & Spa Superbike race.

Despite the absence of Dunlop shod runners, the action across the feature race of this year’s North West 200 was still thrilling, gripping, compelling.

Honda Racing’s Glenn Irwin got the hole shot into York Corner and maintained the lead up to University Corner.

Ian Hutchinson holding fourth, ran straight-on whilst Buildbase Suzuki’s Richard Cooper led the chase to pre-race favourite Irwin.

As lap one ended, Irwin led Cooper by just over a second, PBM Ducati’s Josh Brookes was third as John McGuinness MBE, Michael Rutter, Craig Neve completed the top six.

Cooper was keeping close tabs on Irwin throughout lap two whilst Brookes in third wasn’t as yet out of contention.

Just over six seconds separated Irwin, Cooper, Brookes as lap three beckoned.

Post lap three, Irwin led by two seconds plus, Brookes was still third, McGuinness MBE was holding onto fourth but coming under pressure from long-term roads rival, good-friend Rutter.

Irwin’s lead at the completion of lap four was almost four seconds whilst third placed Brookes had dropped lots of time, following an issue at University.

There was no relenting, dropping of pace from race leader Irwin, who with two laps to go was almost five seconds ahead of Cooper.

Irwin gleefully took the chequered flag once completing remaining laps, to make it six successive NW200 Superbike triumphs.

Cooper in second was delighted at recording his fourth podium finish of the meeting whilst third placed Brookes was equally pleased at gaining his first NW200 rostrum since he last raced around the coast roads in 2014.

Fourth spot post a tenacious display aboard the Milwaukee BMW was Ian Hutchinson.

McGuinness MBE was fifth as top Yamaha runner James Hillier, Bathams Racing’s Rutter, Market Rasen’s Phil Crowe, Immingham’s Craig Neve, Swiss star Lukas Maurer wrapped up the top ten finishers.

Merrow Hotel & Spa Superbike race result, reads as follows:

1st – Glenn Irwin
2nd – Richard Cooper
3rd – Josh Brookes
4th – Ian Hutchinson
5th – John McGuinness MBE
6th – James Hillier
7th – Michael Rutter
8th – Phil Crowe
9th – Craig Neve
10th – Lukas Maurer
11th – Julian Trummer
12th – Ilja Caljouw
13th – Joe Thompson
14th – Josh Daley
15th – Chris Sarbora
16th – Paul Williams
17th – Patricia Fernandez
18th – Nadieh Schoots
19th – Olivier Lupberger

Photo credit: Tommy Vennard

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles