Newcomers Manx Greatest Hits: Stats/Facts

Newcomers Manx Greatest Hits: Stats/Facts

Celebrating the Newcomers Manx Grand Prix races distinct, illustrious history, we are beginning today a new series of articles titled Newcomers Manx Greatest Hits.

We begin by featuring a collection of stats, facts which read as follows:

The first Newcomers race winners in 1978 were Dave Ashton (Senior class), Rob Brew (Junior class) and the much missed Phil Mellor (Lightweight class).

Seven times World Champion Carl Fogarty secured Newcomers Lightweight success in 1985, by the modest margin of just six seconds, with Roy Chapman leading the chase to ‘Foggy’.

Newcomers race podium finishers who have gone onto claim TT victories include Ian Hutchinson, Michael Dunlop, Phillip McCallen and seven times Duke Road Race Rankings Champion Ryan Farquhar BEM.

Masayuki Yamanaka in 2015 became the first MGP podium finisher from Japan, via an impressive run to second in the Newcomers C race.

France’s first Newcomers A race victor was crowned in 2019, as IRRC Supersport Champion Pierre Yves Bian emerged victorious.

Czech Republic’s first Newcomers A class victor was crowned in 2012, as Kamil Holan emerged victorious.

Tadcaster’s Brad Vicars set the current existing Newcomers lap record in 2017, lapping just shy of 119 mph, with a best lap speed of 118.786 mph.

Vicars in recent times a member of Robbie Silvester’s VRS Racing fold, also holds the race record over a three lap distance, (58 minutes 18.785 seconds).

Over a four lap distance, the race record is held by triple MGP winner Michael Evans (1 hour 18 minutes 36.409 seconds – set in 2016).

Six of the past ten Newcomers A race winners piloted R6 Yamaha machinery including future TT participants Chris Dixon and Thomas Maxwell.

Colombia had representation for the first time in 2018, courtesy of Daniel Fernandez.

2019 saw Russia have representation for the first time, courtesy of Danila Krasniuk.

The biggest newcomers race winning margin since 2010 was achieved by the late great James Cowton, who’s 2012 Newcomers C race triumph saw him emerge victorious by plus six minutes over Belgium’s Renzo Van Der Donckt.

Since 2012 63 different racers have secured Newcomers Manx rostrum finishes.

New Zealand’s only rostrum finisher during the past ten years, is 2017 Newcomers B race runner-up Ben Rosendaal.

If your keen to read about more intriguing Manx GP stats/facts or want to up your pure road racing knowledge, why not check out Road Racing News latest publication, Road Racing News Facts book, you won’t be disappointed!

Photo credit Nick Wheeler

Words by Stevie Rial #dontletfearcontrolyou

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles