KDM Hire Cookstown 100: Dunlop/Cowton Share Supersport Spoils

KDM Hire Cookstown 100: Dunlop/Cowton Share Supersport Spoils

Yet again serving up thrilling 600 action, the invitational/feature Supersport encounters of the 2018 KDM Hire Cookstown 100, saw a host of road racing royalty battle it out for middleweight honours, on the fabled Orritor circuit.

The re run invitational race saw Mountain Course lap record holder Michael Dunlop, seal a first Cookstown race win since 2015, as he held off determined challenges from McAdoo Kawasaki duo Adam McLean and James Cowton.

Photo by Rod Neill

Pole sitter Derek Sheils finished fourth, Michael Sweeney banked fifth, whilst Paul Jordan running this year his own team, concluded the top six finishers.

Following an intriguing Open A race, the feature Supersport encounter would provide a trademark multi rider battle, at the sharp end of the field.

Prior to the race been red flagged, following an incident involving ECTA Racing’s Mike Norbury, it was becoming a battle not only for the title of being lead McAdoo Kawasaki racer, but also for race honours, between James Cowton and Adam McLean.

In the end with the race red flagged on lap five, it was former Duke Road Race Rankings champion Cowton, who was declared race winner.

Team mate McLean finished second, Open A race winner Sheils wrapped up the rostrum finishers, as invitational race winner Dunlop aboard his own teams PTR prepared CBR 600RR Honda, had to settle for fourth.

Full results, from the two compelling Supersport races at Cookstown, are as follows:

Supersport Invitational:

1 Michael Dunlop
2 Adam McLean
3 James Cowton
4 Derek Sheils
5 Michael Sweeney
6 Paul Jordan
7 Davey Todd
8 Dan Cooper
9 Darryl Tweed
10 Paul Williams
11 Dominic Herbertson
12 Andy Farrell
13 Neil Kernohan
14 Dean Campbell
15 Michal Dokoupil
16 Gareth Evans

Supersport A:

1 James Cowton
2 Adam McLean
3 Derek Sheils
4 Michael Dunlop
5 Derek McGee
6 William Dunlop
7 Michael Sweeney
8 Paul Jordan
9 Dan Cooper
10 Davey Todd
11 Joe Loughlin
12 Adam Lyon
13 Darryl Tweed
14 Andy Farrell
15 Marc Ironside
16 Tom Robinson
17 Paul Williams
18 Brian McCormack
19 James Chawke
20 Neil Kernohan

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles