Road Racing News

IRRC Terlicko: Kostamo Joins IRRC Winners Circle, Series Leader Todd Bags Second Place Finish

Backing up the form he showed in yesterday’s second timed qualifying session, Erno Kostamo reigned supreme in this morning’s opening IRRC Superbike race.

Quickly into the groove, Naulankanta 38 Motorsport’s steadily broke away from the all-star chasing group of Davey Todd, Marek Cerveny and Didier Grams.

Come the completion of the nine-lap race, Kostamo finished 4.349 clear of IRRC Superbike series leader Todd, who just held off the attentions of Wepol Road Racing team mate Cerveny.

G&G Motorsport supported Grams finished fourth, just 0.617 behind fellow IRRC series great Cerveny.

Whilst the battle for fifth was won by lead newcomer of TT 2019 Lukas Maurer, with event wildcard Patrik Vostarek having to settle for sixth.

7th, 8th, 9th, 10th place finishes were claimed respectively by Horst Saiger, David Datzer, Tomas Borovka and sole Suzuki mounted competitor Thomas Berghammer.

The race result in full, is as follows:

1 Erno Kostamo
2 Davey Todd
3 Marek Cerveny
4 Didier Grams
5 Lukas Maurer
6 Patrik Vostarek
7 Horst Saiger
8 David Datzer
9 Tomas Borovka
10 Thomas Berghammer
11 Pavel Tomecek
12 Ales Nechvatal
13 Kamil Holan
14 Virgil Amber Bloemhard
15 Marcel Elsner
16 Vassilios Takos

Words by Stevie Rial