IRRC Horice: Todd Secures Opening Superbike Honours, Closes In On IRRC Superbike Title

IRRC Horice: Todd Secures Opening Superbike Honours, Closes In On IRRC Superbike Title

Closing in on the 2019 IRRC Superbike title, Wepol Racing’s Davey Todd emerged victorious from a red flagged opening IRRC Superbike race at Horice.

Prior to red flags emerging, fans around the iconic Horice circuit were treated to an enthralling, gripping battle for honours between Todd and Wepol Racing team mates Danny Webb, Marek Cerveny.

There was little to separate Todd, Cerveny and early pace setter Webb over the first four laps, but then on lap five Horice debutant Todd found an extra gear and surged into the race lead, moving by the end of lap five over 0.7 clear of Webb and Cerveny.

Red flags soon arose on lap six and with fifty percent race distance covered, race results were declared upon rider’s positions at the end of lap five.

IRRC Superbike Champion elect Todd now over 70 points clear of nearest Championship rival, fifth place finisher Erno Kostamo, was declared race victor with YZF R1M Yamaha Webb, Czech roads legend Cerveny rounding out the podium finishers.

Didier Grams who set the fastest lap of the race, lapping at 2 minutes 15.284 seconds placed fourth, whilst fellow countryman David Datzer also enjoyed a strong race stint, finishing a more than creditable sixth.

Concluding the first ten finishers behind TT 2019 exponent Datzer were Kamil Holan, Switzerland’s Lukas Maurer, Performance Racing Achterhoek’s Virgil Amber Bloemhard and Pavel Tomecek.

IRRC Horice: Superbike race 1 result is as follows:

1 Davey Todd
2 Danny Webb
3 Marek Cerveny
4 Didier Grams
5 Erno Kostamo
6 David Datzer
7 Kamil Holan
8 Lukas Maurer
9 Virgil Amber Bloemhard
10 Pavel Tomecek
11 Ales Nechvatal
12 Tomas Borovka
13 Hanno Brandenburger
14 Jiri Petrla
15 Josef Luksik
16 Marcel Elsner
17 Yannik Jacops
18 Robert Heitzinger
19 Thomas Mitgutsch
20 Rob Van Eijs
21 Marek Hlozek
22 Vassilios Takos
23 Vladislav Nezdara
24 Jurgen Plattner
25 Kurt Haek
26 Jan Myslivecek
27 Emil Krchnavy
28 Foti Psomadakis
29 Mike Ceuppens

Words by Stevie Rial

Welcome, Here at Road Racing News we pride ourselves in supplying the best and latest news on Pure Road Racing including Race Reports, Race Reviews, Interviews and live updated news. Our Aim is to supply the latest Pure Road Racing news as quickly as possible to all enthusiast of the best sport in the world. Your fantastic support and following is why we do this! Road Racing News Team.

Related Articles