Visit the RTR Motorcycles website
Road Racing News

The Dubliner Mountain Thunder Street Races – Practice/Race Schedule

This weekend the annual Mountain Thunder Street Races take place, as the town of Methven in New Zealand hosts the second real roads meeting worldwide of 2017.

Entrants include Lee Murno, who last year made his Manx Grand Prix debut. He is set to pilot on Saturday, a 750cc Indian, which runs under the machine name of Munro Tribute Bike, in relation to his great uncle uncle, the legendary land speed record holder, Burt Munro.

Additional standout entrants include Methven course specialist Andrew Rudd, Peter Buss and Norjo Motorcycles backed Dan McKenzie.

Photo by Bill Irwin

The full practice/race schedule, for the Dubliner Mountain Thunder Street Races, is as follows:

Practice Schedule:

Practice begins NZ time 9:30 AM – UK time 8:30 PM

Practice session 1: Methven First Timers 3 Laps
Practice session 2: Classics and Pre 72 5 Laps
Practice session 3: Pre 82/Pre 89 F3 5 Laps
Practice session 4: Superlite/Pro Twins 5 Laps
Practice session 5: F4/Development 5 Laps
Practice session 6: Pre 89 F1/Pre 96 5 Laps
Practice session 7: SuperMoto 5 Laps
Practice session 8: Formula Methven/Bears 5 Laps

Race Schedule:

Race action begins NZ time 10:30 AM – UK time 9:30 PM, set to conclude at 4:00 PM – UK time 3:00 AM

Race 1: Classics/Pre 72 6 Laps
Race 2: Pre 82/Pre 89 F3 6 Laps
Race 3: Superlite/Pro Twins 6 Laps
Race 4: F4/Development 6 Laps
Race 5: Pre 89/Pre 96 6 Laps
Race 6: SuperMoto 8 Laps
Race 7: Formula Methven/Bears 8 Laps

Words by Stevie Rial